The Leading eBooks Store Online 3,667,858 members ⚫ 1,180,414 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

A Primate's Memoir

A Neuroscientist's Unconventional Life Among the Baboons

A Primate's Memoir by Robert M. Sapolsky
Add to cart
US$ 13.99
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)
In the tradition of Jane Goodall and Dian Fossey, Robert Sapolsky, a foremost science writer and recipient of a MacArthur Genius Grant, tells the mesmerizing story of his twenty-one years in remote Kenya with a troop of Savannah baboons.

“I had never planned to become a savanna baboon when I grew up; instead, I had always assumed I would become a mountain gorilla,” writes Robert Sapolsky in this witty and riveting chronicle of a scientist’s coming-of-age in remote Africa.

An exhilarating account of Sapolsky’s twenty-one-year study of a troop of rambunctious baboons in Kenya, A Primate’s Memoir interweaves serious scientific observations with wry commentary about the challenges and pleasures of living in the wilds of the Serengeti—for man and beast alike. Over two decades, Sapolsky survives culinary atrocities, gunpoint encounters, and a surreal kidnapping, while witnessing the encroachment of the tourist mentality on the farthest vestiges of unspoiled Africa. As he conducts unprecedented physiological research on wild primates, he becomes evermore enamored of his subjects—unique and compelling characters in their own right—and he returns to them summer after summer, until tragedy finally prevents him.

By turns hilarious and poignant, A Primate’s Memoir is a magnum opus from one of our foremost science writers.
Scribner; November 2007
304 pages; ISBN 9781416590361
Download in secure EPUB
Title: A Primate's Memoir
Author: Robert M. Sapolsky
 
  • News
Another use for literature - Los Angeles Times
Sat, 28 Dec 2013 05:01:22 -0800
Los Angeles TimesAnother use for literatureLos Angeles TimesAnd even more important, it's good to keep in mind the next ...
Animals and humans sometimes kill their young -- the question is why - Los Angeles Times
Fri, 19 Dec 2014 21:20:18 -0800
Los Angeles TimesAnimals and humans sometimes kill their young -- the question is whyLos Angeles Times... monkey weep along ...
Would you break the law for your family? - Los Angeles Times
Sat, 16 Nov 2013 05:02:09 -0800
Los Angeles TimesWould you break the law for your family?Los Angeles TimesIn the weeks leading up to 12-year-old Rebecca ...
ISBNs
1416590366
9780743202411
9781416590361