The Leading eBooks Store Online 3,629,807 members ⚫ 1,172,494 ebooks

New to

Learn more

The Seagull

A Play In Four Acts

The Seagull by Anton Pavlovich Chekhov
Add to cart
US$ 5.99
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)

The Seagull is the first of Anton Checkov's four full-length plays. It explores the romantic and artistic tension in the relationships between a young woman, a fading older lady, her playwright son and a popular story writer. The play references Shakespeare's Hamlet both in text and content. It has a cast of eclectic characters whose principle dramas play themselves out off stage and in unvoiced subtext. As this opposed the melodramatic theatre of the day, the play's first reception in 1895 was hostile. It later became a huge success.

The Floating Press; January 2008
ISBN 9781775411772
Read online, or download in secure EPUB or secure PDF format
Title: The Seagull
Author: Anton Pavlovich Chekhov
Buy, download and read The Seagull (eBook) by Anton Pavlovich Chekhov today!