for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry ...

New to

Learn more

The Cantatas of J. S. Bach

With Their Librettos in German-English Parallel Text

The Cantatas of J. S. Bach by Alfred Dürr
Add to cart
US$ 119.99
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)
A work-by-work commentary on the Bach cantatas by the world's most famous Bach scholar, now available in English and in paperback for the first time. It includes all the cantata librettos in German-English parallel text. An indispensable reference book for anyone listening to, performing in, or studying any of the Bach cantatas. - ;This is the only English translation of this important book by the world's most distinguished Bach scholar. This work is widely regarded as the most authoritative and comprehensive treatment of the Bach cantatas. It begins with a historical survey of the seventeenth-century background to the cantatas, and performance practice issues. The core of the book is a work-by-work study in which each cantata in turn is represented by its libretto, a synopsis of its movements, and a detailed

analytical commentary. This format makes it extremely useful as a reference work for anyone listening to, performing in, or studying any of the Bach cantatas.

All the cantata librettos are given in German-English parallel text. For the English edition the text has been carefully revised to bring it up to date, taking account of recent Bach scholarship. - ;An indispensable reference work is finally available in a handsome English translation, and for that we should be thankful. - Matthew Dirst, Music and Letters;For students studying Bach's cantatas, this book is the best reading material currently available. This is a book that every university library must have on its shelf. - Bach Bibliography Book Review

Oxford University Press, UK; July 2006
984 pages; ISBN 9780191538186
Download in secure PDF format
Title: The Cantatas of J. S. Bach
Author: Alfred Dürr; Richard Jones
Buy, download and read The Cantatas of J. S. Bach (eBook) by Alfred Dürr; Richard Jones today!
More Music