The Leading eBooks Store Online 3,687,217 members ⚫ 1,190,073 ebooks

New to

Learn more

Freedom Summer

The Savage Season of 1964 That Made Mississippi Burn and Made America a Democracy

Freedom Summer by Bruce Watson
Add to cart
US$ 13.99
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)
A majestic history of the summer of '64, which forever changed race relations in America

In the summer of 1964, with the civil rights movement stalled, seven hundred college students descended on Mississippi to register black voters, teach in Freedom Schools, and live in sharecroppers' shacks. But by the time their first night in the state had ended, three volunteers were dead, black churches had burned, and America had a new definition of freedom.

This remarkable chapter in American history, the basis for the controversial film Mississippi Burning, is now the subject of Bruce Watson's thoughtful and riveting historical narrative. Using in- depth interviews with participants and residents, Watson brilliantly captures the tottering legacy of Jim Crow in Mississippi and the chaos that brought such national figures as Martin Luther King Jr. and Pete Seeger to the state. Freedom Summer presents finely rendered portraits of the courageous black citizens-and Northern volunteers-who refused to be intimidated in their struggle for justice, and the white Mississippians who would kill to protect a dying way of life. Few books have provided such an intimate look at race relations during the deadliest days of the Civil Rights movement, and Freedom Summer will appeal to readers of Taylor Branch and Doug Blackmon.
Penguin Publishing Group; June 2010
384 pages; ISBN 9781101190180
Read online, or download in secure EPUB
Title: Freedom Summer
Author: Bruce Watson
  • News
Let there be light: Historian Bruce Watson examines a different kind of history in his new book - Amherst Bulletin
Fri, 04 Mar 2016 21:07:24 -0800
Amherst BulletinLet there be light: Historian Bruce Watson examines a different kind of history in his new bookAmherst ...
Bruce Watson's "Freedom Summer," reviewed by Jonathan Yardley - Washington Post
Sat, 03 Jul 2010 21:16:05 -0700
Bruce Watson's "Freedom Summer," reviewed by Jonathan YardleyWashington PostIn the year of Freedom Summer, a book ...
Freedom Summer: Fifty Years and Remembering - WYSO
Mon, 23 Jun 2014 13:51:00 -0700
Freedom Summer: Fifty Years and RememberingWYSOFreedom Summer: Fifty Years and Remembering. By Dave Barber ... Charlie Cobb, a ...