The Leading eBooks Store Online 3,508,729 members ⚫ 2,065,349 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more

Eels

An Exploration, from New Zealand to the Sargasso, of the World's Most Mysterious Fish

Eels by James Prosek
Add to cart
US$ 14.99
(If any tax is payable it will be calculated and shown at checkout.)

“This is a delightful work with the urgency of a good detective story.” —Thomas McGuane

“I loved it! A beautiful adventure story of one of the most wide-spread and least-known but ecologically important fish.” —Bernd Heinrich, author of Summer World

Famous for his deeply informed, compulsively readable books on trout, writer-painter James Prosek (whom the New York Times has called “the Audubon of the fishing world”) takes on nature’s quirkiest and most enigmatic fish: the eel. Fans of Mark Kurlansky’s Cod and The Big Oyster or Trevor Corson’s The Secret Life of Lobsters will love Prosek’s probing exploration of the hidden deep-water dwellers. With characteristically captivating prose and lavish illustrations, Prosek demystifies the eel’s unique biology and bizarre mating routines, and illuminates the animal’s varied roles in the folklore, cuisine, and commerce of a variety of cultures.

HarperCollins; September 2010
288 pages; ISBN 9780062008817
Download in secure EPUB
Title: Eels
Author: James Prosek
 
Buy, download and read Eels (eBook) by James Prosek today!
More Nature
ISBNs
0062008811
9780060566128
9780062008817