The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books

Most popular at the top

  • Miss Smilla's Feeling For Snowby Peter Høeg

    Random House 2014; US$ 14.38

    One snowy day in Copenhagen, six-year-old Isaiah falls to his death from a city rooftop.The police pronounce it an accident. But Isaiah's neighbour, Smilla, an expert in the ways of snow and ice, suspects murder. She embarks on a dangerous quest to find the truth, following a path of clues as clear to her as footsteps in the snow. 21 years after... more...

  • From Civil Strife to Peace Buildingby Hany Besada

    Wilfrid Laurier University Press 2009; US$ 42.95

    From Civil Strife to Peace Building examines peace-building efforts in the fragile West African states of Sierra Leone, Liberia, and Côte d'Ivoire, with a focus on the role of the private sector in leading the reconstruction initiatives. Given that aid and debt relief, the traditional remedies for dependency and underdevelopment, have not been... more...

  • Zimbabweby Hany Besada

    Palgrave Macmillan 2011; US$ 110.00

    Formerly one of Africa's most promising economies, Zimbabwe has begun a process of economic reconstruction after decades of political turmoil and economic mismanagement. The advent of a national unity government in February 2009 launched a new but still tentative era of political stability. The government has a daunting political and economic agenda.... more...

  • Borderlinersby Peter Høeg

    Random House 2012; US$ 15.98

    Three emotionally damaged children were all under assessment in Biehl's experimental school, they were all borderliners. Fully alert to their guinea-pig status they attempt to escape and expose its oppresive mechanisms. more...

  • Borderlinersby Peter Høeg

    Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2013; US$ 20.99

    National Bestseller Strange things are happening at Biehl's Academy when this elite school opens its doors to a group of orphans and reform-school rejects, kids at the end of the system's tether. But the school is run by a peculiar set of rules by which every minute is regimented and controlled. The children soon suspect that they are guinea pigs... more...

  • The History Of Danish Dreamsby Peter Høeg

    Random House 2012; US$ 15.98

    Peter Høeg's first novel is an interweaving of the lives and loves of four families, within which histories time expands, clocks stop or race forward at will. The dreams and disappointments of the children of the author's magnificent imagination foreshadow the themes of Miss Smilla's Feeling for Snow and Borderliners more...

  • The Quiet Girlby Peter Høeg

    Random House 2015; US$ 14.38

    Set in Denmark in the here and now, The Quiet Girl centres around Kaspar Krone, a world-renowned circus clown with a deep love for the music of Johann Sebastian Bach, and an even deeper gambling debt. Wanted for tax evasion and on the verge of extradition, Krone is drafted into the service of a mysterious order of nuns who promise him reprieve from... more...

  • Tales Of The Nightby Peter Høeg

    Random House 2012; US$ 19.18

    Love as violence, love as a curse, love as redemption, as suffering, as wisdom, as innocence, as delusion ? each story takes place on the night of 19 March 1929 and a character tries to understand or express love from his or her perspective: as dancer, lawyer, astronomer, mathematician, artist, actor, doctor, mirror-maker. This book, inhabited by real... more...

  • Tales of the Nightby Peter Høeg

    Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2013; US$ 8.99

    These eight stories are linked by a date and a motif. All of them have to do with love. Love and its conditions on the night of March 19, 1929. In his second book and his only collection of stories, Peter Høeg proves himself to be a true storyteller in the tradition of Karen Blixen and Joseph Conrad. These beautifully constructed tales deal... more...

  • The Woman And The Apeby Peter Høeg

    Random House 2012; US$ 14.38

    The woman is Madelene, rich, beautiful and alcoholic; the ape, intelligent and illegally imported to London by Madelene's husband Burden. Burden has plans, so does Madelene, and so, as it happens, does the ape. This most controversial of Høeg's novels takes us from Society London, across its roof-tops to a forest idyll, to make for a fable at once... more...