The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,667,858 members ⚫ 1,180,414 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books

Most popular at the top

  • Romancing the Tomesby Margaret Thornton

    Taylor and Francis 2013; US$ 77.95

    This provocative collection of essays by scholars from the UK, Canada, Australia and New Zealand explores the uneasy relationship between law and popular culture from a feminist perspective. The essays not only consider the representation of law in popular culture, including film, crime fiction and the media, but also the representation of popular... more...

  • Privatising the Public Universityby Margaret Thornton

    Taylor and Francis 2011; US$ 46.99

    First Published in 2011. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company. more...

  • It's a Lovely Day Tomorrowby Margaret Thornton

    Headline 2013; US$ 5.99

    Jenny Carter has always led a sheltered life, protected by those she loves. Leaving school at fourteen, she is faced with no alternative but to help her mother run Pleasant View boarding house in Blackpool. To the holidaymakers it is a welcoming retreat, but to Jenny and her younger sister Violet, who struggle to keep up with their mother?s intolerable... more...

  • There's a Silver Liningby Margaret Thornton

    Headline 2013; US$ 5.99

    It?s 1918, the war is finally over, and Sarah Donnelly and her cousin Nancy are filled with hope for the future. In particular, Sarah eagerly awaits the safe return of her cousin Zachary, whom she has adored since childhood. But when Zachary returns to Blackpool, shattered by the horrors of war, he can barely face his family let alone reciprocate Sarah?s... more...

  • A Stick of Blackpool Rockby Margaret Thornton

    Headline 2013; US$ 5.99

    For several years Ellen Bamber has helped her mother run a sweet stall on Preston Market. But by night she has suffered the violence of her drunken husband, tolerating his abuse for the sake of their two young children, Rachel and George. Then, following an evening?s excessive drinking, William falls into the path of a hansom cab and dies, and Ellen... more...

  • Don't Sit Under the Apple Treeby Margaret Thornton

    Headline 2013; US$ 5.99

    A heartwarming World War Two saga for fans of Kate Flynn, Annie Murray and Margaret Dickinson. Blackpool 1940. Although the War means uncertainty and anxiety for some, Eunice Morton is grateful for the opportunities it provides her with. She volunteers for the Women's Land Army and is sent to help on a farm in Gloucestershire. Milking the cows... more...

  • All You Need is Loveby Margaret Thornton

    Headline 2013; US$ 5.99

    A heartwarming saga set in sixties Blackpool for fans of Kate Flynn, Annie Murray and Margaret Dickinson It is the beginning of 1962, a time when four long-haired lads from Liverpool made anything seem possible. Abbie Horsfall returns to her childhood town of Blackpool with her two teenage children, hoping to start afresh following the death of... more...

  • Sunset Viewby Margaret Thornton

    Headline 2013; US$ 5.99

    It's 1965 and Doreen Jarvis and her family have moved from their old boarding house to a more up-market Blackpool hotel. As well as trying to make a success of the new business, Doreen has to deal with the problems faced by her five children, who are all growing up and looking for a life of their own. The eldest, Veronica, is desperately searching... more...

  • Wednesday's Childby Margaret Thornton

    Headline 2013; US$ 5.99

    When Rachel Watkins gives birth to her daughter on Ash Wednesday in 1953, she prays the old saying ? Wednesday?s child is full of woe ? won?t be provide true. She?s shed enough tears over her troubled marriage to Derek, and she hopes that Lorna will be the sunshine to light up their unhappy home. But Derek?s overnight ?business trips? continue ? until... more...

  • How Happy We Shall Beby Margaret Thornton

    Headline 2013; US$ 5.99

    A heartwarming World War Two saga for fans of Kate Flynn, Annie Murray and Margaret Dickinson. Rosie and Patsy Bradshaw became sisters during the Second World War when Rosie was adopted as an orphaned evacuee in Blackpool.Since then, they've been the best of friends - some would say, inseparable - but as the girls reach adulthood it is time for... more...