The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,508,729 members ⚫ 2,065,349 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books

Most popular at the top

  • How Fiction Worksby James Wood

    Random House 2010; US$ 12.68

    In the tradition of E. M. Forster's Aspects of the Novel and Milan Kundera's The Art of the Novel , How Fiction Works is a scintillating and searching study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realism, and style. In his first full-length book of criticism, one of the most prominent critics of... more...

  • The Irresponsible Selfby James Wood

    Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2005; US$ 23.99

    "James Wood has been called our best young critic. This is not true. He is our best critic; he thinks with a sublime ferocity."--Cynthia Ozick Following the collection The Broken Estate --which established James Wood as the leading critic of his generation-- The Irresponsible Self confirms Wood's preeminence, not only as a discerning judge but... more...

  • The Book Against Godby James Wood

    Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2004; US$ 20.99

    A Passionate, Profoundly Funny First Novel from "the Best Literary Critic of His Generation" (Adam Begley, Financial Times ) Thomas Bunting, the charming, chaotic, and deeply untruthful narrator of James Wood's wonderful first novel, is in despair. His marriage is disintegrating and his academic career is in ruins: instead of completing his philosophy... more...

  • The Fun Stuff and Other Essaysby James Wood

    Random House 2013; US$ 12.68

    Following The Broken Estate , The Irresponsible Self , and How Fiction Works ? books that established James Wood as the leading critic of his generation ? The Fun Stuff confirms Wood?s pre-eminence, not only as a discerning judge but also as an appreciator of the contemporary novel. In twenty-three passionate, sparkling dispatches ? that range... more...

  • The Fun Stuffby James Wood

    Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2012; US$ 17.99

    Following The Broken Estate , The Irresponsible Self , and How Fiction Works ?books that established James Wood as the leading critic of his generation? The Fun Stuff c onfirms Wood's preeminence, not only as a discerning judge but also as an appreciator of the contemporary novel. In twenty-three passionate, sparkling dispatches?that range over... more...

  • The Society of Equalityby James Wood

    University of New Mexico Press 2011; US$ 29.95

    Wood argues that the "œSociety of Equality" set a new standard for democratic thought and action in Chilean history and was arguably the most democratic political association of its era in all of Latin America. more...

  • The Irresponsible Selfby James Wood

    Random House 2013; US$ 21.14

    When James Wood's first collection of essays, The Broken Estate , was published in 1999, the reviewers hailed a master critic. The common thread in Wood's latest collection of essays is what makes us laugh - and the book is an attempt to distinguish between the perhaps rather limited English comedy (as seen in Waugh, for example) and a 'continental'... more...

  • The Book Against Godby James Wood

    Random House 2013; US$ 14.09

    Thomas Bunting, charming, chaotic, and deeply untruthful, is in despair. His marriage is disintegrating, and his academic career is in ruins: instead of completing his philosophy PhD, he is secretly writing what he hopes will be his masterwork, a vast atheistic project he has privately entitled 'The Book Against God'. But when his father is suddenly... more...

  • The Broken Estateby James Wood

    Random House Publishing Group 2013; US$ 19.00

    "In America, where he now makes his home, consensus is building that James Wood, a thirty-four-year-old English-man, is the best literary critic of his generation. . . . Wood is not just a keen critic, our best, but a superb writer. James Wood is the kind of writer James Wood admires most: daring, meaty, boldly metaphoric and unequivocally committed."--Adam... more...

  • Problems in Modern Latin American Historyby James A. Wood

    Rowman & Littlefield Publishers 2013; US$ 47.99

    Now in its fourth edition, this leading reader has been updated with the aim of tightening the focus of each chapter on a major interpretive problem. This edition includes an entirely new chapter, ?Historical Memory,? which allows readers to revisit the era of the Cold War from a contemporary perspective, and the chapters on nationalism and globalization... more...