The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,757,227 members ⚫ 1,221,934 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books

Most popular at the top

  • How Fiction Worksby James Wood

    Random House 2010; US$ 14.09

    In the tradition of E. M. Forster's Aspects of the Novel and Milan Kundera's The Art of the Novel , How Fiction Works is a scintillating and searching study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realism, and style. In his first full-length book of criticism, one of the most prominent critics of... more...

  • The Fun Stuffby James Wood

    Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2012; US$ 11.90

    Following The Broken Estate , The Irresponsible Self , and How Fiction Works ?books that established James Wood as the leading critic of his generation? The Fun Stuff c onfirms Wood's preeminence, not only as a discerning judge but also as an appreciator of the contemporary novel. In twenty-three passionate, sparkling dispatches?that range over... more...

  • The Fun Stuff and Other Essaysby James Wood

    Random House 2013; US$ 12.68

    Following The Broken Estate , The Irresponsible Self , and How Fiction Works ? books that established James Wood as the leading critic of his generation ? The Fun Stuff confirms Wood?s pre-eminence, not only as a discerning judge but also as an appreciator of the contemporary novel. In twenty-three passionate, sparkling dispatches ? that range... more...

  • The Society of Equalityby James Wood

    University of New Mexico Press 2011; US$ 29.95

    Wood argues that the "œSociety of Equality" set a new standard for democratic thought and action in Chilean history and was arguably the most democratic political association of its era in all of Latin America. more...

  • The Book Against Godby James Wood

    Random House 2013; US$ 14.09

    Thomas Bunting, charming, chaotic, and deeply untruthful, is in despair. His marriage is disintegrating, and his academic career is in ruins: instead of completing his philosophy PhD, he is secretly writing what he hopes will be his masterwork, a vast atheistic project he has privately entitled 'The Book Against God'. But when his father is suddenly... more...

  • The Irresponsible Selfby James Wood

    Random House 2013; US$ 22.55

    When James Wood's first collection of essays, The Broken Estate , was published in 1999, the reviewers hailed a master critic. The common thread in Wood's latest collection of essays is what makes us laugh - and the book is an attempt to distinguish between the perhaps rather limited English comedy (as seen in Waugh, for example) and a 'continental'... more...

  • The Broken Estateby James Wood

    Random House Publishing Group 2013; US$ 19.00

    This book recalls an era when criticism could change the way we look at the world. In the tradition of Matthew Arnold and Edmund Wilson, James Wood reads literature expansively, always pursuing its role and destiny in our lives. In a series of essays about such figures as Melville, Flaubert, Chekhov, Virginia Woolf, and Don DeLillo, Wood relates their... more...

  • Problems in Modern Latin American Historyby James A. Wood

    Rowman & Littlefield Publishers 2013; US$ 48.99

    Now in its fourth edition, this leading reader has been updated with the aim of tightening the focus of each chapter on a major interpretive problem. This edition includes an entirely new chapter, ?Historical Memory,? which allows readers to revisit the era of the Cold War from a contemporary perspective, and the chapters on nationalism and globalization... more...

  • Computational Methods in Reactor Shieldingby James Wood

    Elsevier Science 2013; US$ 72.95

    Computational Methods in Reactor Shielding deals with the mathematical processes involved in how to effectively control the dangerous effect of nuclear radiation. Reactor shielding is considered an important aspect in the operation of reactor systems to ensure the safety of personnel and others that can be directly or indirectly affected. Composed... more...

  • The Nearest Thing To Lifeby James Wood

    Random House 2015; US$ 18.32

    In this remarkable blend of memoir and criticism, James Wood has written a master class on the connections between fiction and life. He argues that, of all the arts, fiction has a unique ability to describe the shape of our lives, and to rescue the texture of those lives from death and historical oblivion. The act of reading is understood here as... more...