The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books

Most popular at the top

  • Posttraumatic Growthby Richard G. Tedeschi; Crystal L. Park; Lawrence G. Calhoun

    Taylor and Francis 1998; US$ 65.00

    That which does not kill us makes us stronger. (Nietzsche) The phenomenon of positive personal change following devastating events has been recognized since ancient times, but given little attention by contemporary psychologists and psychiatrists, who have tended to focus on the negative consequences of stress. In recent years, evidence from... more...

  • Programming Microsoft SQL Server 2012by Andrew Brust; Leonard G. Lobel

    Pearson Education 2012; US$ 47.99

    Your essential guide to key programming features in Microsoft SQL Server 2012 Take your database programming skills to a new level?and build customized applications using the developer tools introduced with SQL Server 2012. This hands-on reference shows you how to design, test, and deploy SQL Server databases through tutorials, practical examples,... more...

  • The Custom of the Countryby Edith Wharton

    The Floating Press 1913; US$ 3.99

    Can't get enough of the Gilded Age fast talkers, débutantes, and social climbers who populate Edith Wharton's exquisitely wrought novels? Fans of The House of Mirth and The Age of Innocence will love The Custom of the Country, which details country girl Undine Spragg's attempt to take a bite out of Big Apple high society. more...

  • How to Seduce a Brideby Edith Layton

    HarperCollins 2009; US$ 5.99

    How does one seduce a bride? Step One: Lay bare her mysteries... Daisy Tanner has taken the ton by storm and Leland Grant, Viscount Haye, wants to know everything about this ravishing, secretive woman who is tempting his friend into marriage. Though his rakish reputation is the stuff of legend, Leland is curiously undone by this exquisite creature... more...

  • The Age of Innocenceby Edith Wharton

    Penguin Books Ltd 2007; US$ 3.20

    The return of the beautiful Countess Olenska into the rigidly conventional society of New York sends reverberations throughout the upper reaches of society. Newland Archer, an eligible young man of the establishment is about to announce his engagement to May Welland, a pretty ingénue, when May's cousin, Countess Olenska, is introduced into... more...

  • Twilight Sleepby Edith Wharton

    Scribner 2012; US$ 2.50

    Out of print for several decades, here is Edith Wharton's superb satirical novel of the Jazz Age, a critically praised best-seller when it was first published in 1927. Sex, drugs, work, money, infatuation with the occult and spiritual healing -- these are the remarkably modern themes that animate Twilight Sleep. The extended family of Mrs. Manford... more...

  • The House of Mirthby Edith Wharton

    HarperCollins Canada 2013; Not Available

    Striking, sophisticated and witty, Lily Bart lives a life of expensive taste and civilised society in turn of the century New York. But nearing thirty and still unmarried, Lily?s place in society becomes uncertain without a husband to maintain her lifestyle and social standing. After rejecting several offers of marriage, Lily?s life spirals out of... more...

  • The Age of Innocenceby Edith Wharton; Stephen Orgel

    Oxford University Press, UK 2006; US$ 4.49

    Edith Wharton's most famous novel, written immediately after the end of the First World War, is a brilliantly realized anatomy of New York society in the 1870s. The charming Newland Archer is content to live within its constraints until he meets Ellen Olenska, whose arrival threatens his impending marriage as well as his comfortable future. - ;'They... more...

  • The Invisible Manby H. G. Wells

    The Floating Press 2008; US$ 5.95

    H.G. Wells' 1897 science fiction novella The Invisible Man tells the story of a scientist named Griffin who theory is this: if the refractive index of a person's body is adjusted to exactly that of air, then his body will not absorb or reflect light and he will become invisible. Griffin subjects himself to a procedure to do this, becoming an... more...

  • The Man Who Was Thursdayby G. K. Chesterton

    The Floating Press 2009; US$ 4.99

    The metaphysical thriller The Man Who Was Thursday: A Nightmare , written by G. K. Chesterton in 1908, deals with a philosophical or theological anarchism; more a rejection of God than a rejection of government. The novel was described by Adam Gopnik as "one of the hidden hinges of twentieth-century writing, the place where, before our eyes, the... more...