The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,720,765 members ⚫ 1,207,593 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books

Most popular at the top

  • One Riverby Wade Davis

    Simon & Schuster 2010; US$ 19.00

    The story of two generations of scientific explorers in South America?Richard Evans Schultes and his protégé Wade Davis?an epic tale of adventure and a compelling work of natural history. In 1941, Professor Richard Evan Schultes took a leave from Harvard and disappeared into the Amazon, where he spent the next twelve years mapping uncharted rivers... more...

  • The Serpent and the Rainbowby Wade Davis

    Simon & Schuster 2010; US$ 16.00

    A scientific investigation and personal adventure story about zombis and the voudoun culture of Haiti by a Harvard scientist. In April 1982, ethnobotanist Wade Davis arrived in Haiti to investigate two documented cases of zombis?people who had reappeared in Haitian society years after they had been officially declared dead and had been buried. Drawn... more...

  • Light at the Edge of the Worldby Wade Davis

    D & M Publishers 2009; US$ 11.99

    For more than 30 years, renowned anthropologist Wade Davis has traveled the globe, studying the mysteries of sacred plants and celebrating the world?s traditional cultures. His passion as an ethnobotanist has brought him to the very center of indigenous life in places as remote and diverse as the Canadian Arctic, the deserts of North Africa, the... more...

  • Into the Silenceby Wade Davis

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2011; US$ 17.95

    On June 6, 1924, two men set out from a camp perched at 23,000 feet on an ice ledge just below the lip of Mount Everest?s North Col. George Mallory, thirty-seven, was Britain?s finest climber. Sandy Irvine was a young Oxford scholar of twenty-two with little previous mountaineering experience. Neither of them returned.   In this magisterial work... more...

  • Clouded Leopardby Wade Davis

    I.B.Tauris 2007; US$ 14.95

    ?It is a violent overture, like the opening notes of an opera about war, a war between humans and the land.?_x000D__x000D_For many years and through many of the world?s most remote regions Wade Davis has travelled in search of the rare places where cultural diversity survives, untainted by the influences of globalisation and modernisation. The Clouded... more...

  • One Riverby Davis Wade

    Random House 2014; US$ 16.91

    From the author of INTO THE SILENCE, winner of the Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-Fiction In 1941, Richard Evans Schultes took a leave of absence from Harvard University and disappeared into the Northern Amazon of Colombia. The world?s leading authority on the hallucinogens and medicinal plants of the region, he returned after twelve years of... more...

  • Passage of Darknessby Wade Davis

    The University of North Carolina Press 2000; US$ 29.99

    In 1982, Harvard-trained ethnobotanist Wade Davis traveled into the Haitian countryside to research reports of zombies--the infamous living dead of Haitian folklore. A report by a team of physicians of a verifiable case of zombification led him to try to obtain the poison associated with the process and examine it for potential medical use. Interdisciplinary... more...

  • Cowboys of the Americasby Luis Fabini; Wade Davis

    Greystone Books 2016; US$ 45.00

    For more than a decade, photographer Luis Fabini immersed himself in cowboy culture as he traveled through North and South America. This stunning collection of photographs from those travels reveals the cowboy who lives in silence and solitude, the interconnectedness of the men with the land, and a traditional way of life that exists on the outskirts... more...

  • The Elgar Companion to Recent Economic Methodologyby John B. Davis; D. Wade Hands

    Edward Elgar Publishing 2012; US$ 60.00

    Economics methodology has traditionally been associated with logical positivism in the vein of Milton Friedman, Karl Popper, Imre Lakatos and Thomas Kuhn. However, the emergence and proliferation of new research programs in economics has stimulated many novel developments in economic methodology. This impressive Companion critically examines these... more...

  • The Sacred Headwatersby Wade Davis; David Suzuki; Robert F. Kennedy Jr.; Carr Clifton

    Greystone Books 2011; US$ 45.00

    In the rugged northern Rocky Mountains lies a spectacularly beautiful valley, known to the Native peoples as the Sacred Headwaters. There, on the edge of the Spatsizi Wilderness, the Serengeti of North America, three of the continent's most important salmon rivers?the Stikine, the Skeena, and the Nass?are born. Now, against the wishes of the Native... more...