The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,788,875 members ⚫ 1,234,658 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books

Most popular at the top

  • A Promise Givenby Meg Hutchinson

    Hodder & Stoughton 1999; US$ 8.99

    In the grand tradition of Josephine Cox and Catherine Cookson. Stunned by her stepmother's accusation that she killed her beloved little brother, Rachel Cade is even more shocked to find she is at the mercy of the village's evil Magistrate Bedworth who sends her to the workhouse to await trial. There, Rachel is convinced her fate is sealed, but she... more...

  • Unholy Loveby Meg Hutchinson

    Hodder & Stoughton 2003; US$ 8.99

    Young Philippa Cranley is living a lie. Her tyrannical father Archer forces her to masquerade as a man in order to comply with the terms of her maternal grandfather's Will, and enable him to inherit the glassworks. By threatening her fragile mother with imprisonment in a mental institution, he forces Philippa to become Philip, wearing men's clothes... more...

  • Pauper's Childby Meg Hutchinson

    Hodder & Stoughton 2005; US$ 8.99

    Increasingly desperate poverty after her beloved father's suicide forces a crisis for Callista Stanford, for vicious rent collector Oswin Slade will accept only the girl's body in payment for the rent due. Repulsed by his advances, Callista postpones the evil day until it is too late. Homeless and destitute, Callista finds refuge with Abigail and Daniel... more...

  • Peppercorn Womanby Meg Hutchinson

    Hodder & Stoughton 2002; US$ 8.99

    'Throw it to the dogs! Do as I say or by Christ I'll do it myself and throw you in after it!' Tyler Cadell's cruel order spells heartbreak for his wife Garnet and their new-born baby. She flees to save herself, but cannot save her child and the memory of that tragic loss haunts her days. Taken in by a band of Black Country Romanies, Garnet is... more...

  • A Step Too Farby Meg Hutchinson

    Hodder & Stoughton 2008; US$ 8.99

    'You be a cheat and a liar Katy Hawley, no wonder your folks d'aint want you! Well we don't want you neither, do we girls?' It was only a playground spat but the cruel words burned like acid into Katrin Hawley's brain. Revenge is a dish best eaten cold and Katrin waited until she could hit her persecutors where it hurt. However, in her pursuit... more...

  • The Wanton Redheadby Meg Hutchinson

    Hodder & Stoughton 2006; US$ 8.99

    Meg Hutchinson's twentieth novel sweeps from the collieries of the Black Country to the sugar-scented islands of the Caribbean as it tells the story of a young woman who must suffer many violent wrongs before being saved by her own virtue, and by the love of a good man. When her selfish, flighty sister leaves home following a false promise of becoming... more...

  • Friendship's Bondby Meg Hutchinson

    Hodder & Stoughton 2010; US$ 8.99

    He claimed to be a man of God. But he did the devil's work. Thomas Thorpe hides his carnal desires under the mask of a pious lay preacher. When Ann Spencer rejects his advances, he evicts her from her home, claiming she is living in sin with a young man not her blood relative. But Alec is a ward, not a lover. And Ann has made a promise to her... more...

  • For The Love Of A Sisterby Meg Hutchinson

    Hodder & Stoughton 2005; US$ 6.99

    When Myra Brent's sister Eden visits her at Moorcroft House, instead of being welcomed, Eden receives a stinging slap. Eden is devastated by her sister's cruel behaviour. Myra is simply trying to prevent her beloved sister from catching the predatory eye of Ava Russell, the cruel mistress of Moorcroft House. But her action is to have dire consequences.... more...

  • A Sister's Tearsby Meg Hutchinson

    Hodder & Stoughton 2009; US$ 8.99

    'Her upstairs d'aint want nobody becomin' privy to what that husband of her'n be up to! Her knowed the ways of Fenton Gilmore . . . may the devil tek him! Her knows his temper, felt his fist many a time. And there be others as knows, women he's paid to keep silent about the blows they've suffered, for it tek more'n a roll in bed to satisfy Fenton... more...

  • No Place of Angelsby Meg Hutchinson

    Hodder & Stoughton 1998; US$ 8.99

    A captivating saga for fans of Josephine Cox and Catherine Cookson. Carys Beddows cannot understand why her mother hates her so much. Certainly jealousy plays a part: Maria believes that young Ryder Tempal would be hers with her pretty daughter out of the way and throws Carys out to fend for herself. Good fortune leads the girl to Ridge House,... more...