The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,687,217 members ⚫ 1,190,073 ebooks

New to

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books

Most popular at the top

  • Morning Frostby James Henry

    Transworld 2013; US$ 9.86

    A gripping prequel to R. D. Wingfield's A TOUCH OF FROST, perfect for fans of David Jason's Jack Frost and readers who love Stuart MacBride, Peter James and Lynda La Plante. November 1982. It?s been one of the worst days of DS Jack Frost?s life. He has buried his wife Mary, and must now endure the wake, attended by all of Denton?s finest.... more...

  • The Turn of the Screwby Henry James; David Bromwich

    Penguin Books Ltd 2011; US$ 8.45

    'The apparition had reached the landing half-way up and was therefore on the spot nearest the window where, at the sight of me, it stopped short' The Turn of the Screw tells the story of a young governess sent to a country house to take charge of two orphans. Unsettled by a sense of intense evil in the house, she soon becomes obsessed with the... more...

  • Beast in the Jungleby Henry James

    Electric Book Company 1999; US$ 4.95

    In this psychological drama, Henry James explores the mind of John Marcher, a neurotic egoist obsessed with the lurking feeling that something amazing is going to happen to him. James borrowed this concept from the notebooks of his good friend, author Constance Fenimore Woolson, who had fallen to her death from her window in Venice a few years earlier.... more...

  • The Altar of the Deadby Henry James

    Electric Book Company 1999; US$ 4.95

    Henry James' short novels provide an overview of his entire career and serve as an excellent introduction to his singular art and imagination. The Altar of the Dead (1909) is about a man so trapped in the past that he has pushed life and love aside. more...

  • The Ambassadorsby Henry James

    Electric Book Company 1999; US$ 4.95

    Henry James considered this his greatest work. It is the story of Lambert Strether who is sent to Paris, from New England by his fiancee, the widowed Mrs Newsome. Strether was sent to bring back Mrs Nessome?s son, whom, it is rumored, has fallen in love with a frenchwoman, a woman of questionable character. A critically acclaimed masterpiece... more...

  • The Aspern Papersby Henry James

    Electric Book Company 2000; US$ 4.95

    The story of a love affair in the early 19th Century between a romantic poet, Jeffrey Aspern, and a beautiful young lady whom he called Julianna. The Aspern Papers is set late in the nineteenth century after Aspern has died. Julianna is a reclusive spinster who lives in seclusion with her niece, whose life is disrupted when an American comes... more...

  • The Figure in the Carpetby Henry James

    Electric Book Company 1999; US$ 4.95

    The narrator, a writer, prides himself on his astute review of Hugh Vereker's latest novel. Vereker dismisses his efforts, explaining that none of the critics have spotted the secret contained in his novel. As the narrator and his friends attempt to decipher the secret, it becomes a test of their characters and of the truth. more...

  • The Jolly Cornerby Henry James

    Electric Book Company 1999; US$ 4.95

    In this 'apparitional' story Henry James takes the reader to 'The Jolly Corner', a haunted house where a man, obsessed by his past, is able to see what he might have been like had circumstances been different. A compelling story of psychological doubling. more...

  • Confidenceby Henry James

    Electric Book Company 1999; US$ 4.95

    Written in 1880, this little-known and charming novel is a light drawing-room comedy about the romantic entanglements of Americans traveling through Europe. Bernard Longueville, an Englishman in Europe, meets various people and visits different places, and the reader is swept along with him in this tour. more...

  • The Coxon Fundby Henry James

    Electric Book Company 1999; US$ 4.95

    The Coxon Fund is a fund endowed by a rich man to be given to a seeker of moral truth, a serious philosopher. Is Frank Saltram, the perpetually amusing and entertaining visitor in the Mulville home, the philosopher for whom this fund is meant? The Coxon Fund was written in 1895. more...