The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,508,729 members ⚫ 2,065,349 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
L'Institut de Recherche Pour le Developpement IRD

Most popular at the top

  • Beauty and the Beastby Marie Le Prince de Beaumont

    MobileReference.com 2010; US$ 3.99

    Beauty and the Beast is a traditional fairy tale (type 425C – enchanted husband – in the Aarne-Thompson classification). The first published version of the fairy tale was a rendition by Madame Gabrielle-Suzanne Barbot de Villeneuve, published in La jeune américaine, et les contes marins in 1740. The best-known written version was an... more...

  • Birds Without Wingsby Louis De Bernieres

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2007; US$ 16.95

    In his first novel since Corelli?s Mandolin , Louis de Bernières creates a world, populates it with characters as real as our best friends, and launches it into the maelstrom of twentieth-century history. The setting is a small village in southwestern Anatolia in the waning years of the Ottoman Empire. Everyone there speaks Turkish, though they... more...

  • The Age of Empathyby Frans De Waal

    Crown/Archetype 2009; US$ 17.00

    "An important and timely message about the biological roots of human kindness." ?Desmond Morris, author of The Naked Ape Are we our brothers' keepers? Do we have an instinct for compassion? Or are we, as is often assumed, only on earth to serve our own survival and interests? In this thought-provoking book, the acclaimed author of Our Inner Ape... more...

  • Sarah's Keyby Tatiana de Rosnay

    St. Martin's Press 2007; US$ 14.99

    Paris, July 1942: Sarah, a ten year-old girl, is brutally arrested with her family by the French police in the Vel' d'Hiv' roundup, but not before she locks her younger brother in a cupboard in the family's apartment, thinking that she will be back within a few hours. Paris, May 2002: On Vel' d'Hiv's 60th anniversary, journalist Julia Jarmond is asked... more...

  • Grammatical Inferenceby Colin de la Higuera

    Cambridge University Press 2010; US$ 96.00

    The first book to present the basic techniques and main results of this expanding field of research. more...

  • The Door in the Wallby Marguerite De Angeli

    Random House Children's Books 2012; US$ 6.99

    Set in the fourteenth century, the classic story of one boy's personal heroism when he loses the use of his legs. From the Paperback edition. more...

  • The Secret Pilgrimby John le Carré

    Penguin Books Ltd 2011; US$ 11.27

    The last of John le Carré's espionage novels to feature his most enduring and well-loved character, George Smiley, and a gripping feat of narrative brilliance, The Secret Pilgrim is published in Penguin Modern Classics with an afterword by the author. The Cold War is over and Ned has been demoted to the training academy. He asks his old mentor,... more...

  • The Brothers' Warby John de St. Jorre

    Faber & Faber 2012; US$ 23.32

    The Brothers' War: Biafra and Nigeria was first published in 1972. In the UK it had the title The Nigerian Civil War. That is what it is about. In the early 1960s Nigeria looked set to be the major black African country. It seemed to be immune from the internecine struggles that bedevilled so many of the African states. The illusion of... more...

  • The Precious Oneby Marisa de los Santos

    HarperCollins 2015; US$ 13.99

    From the New York Times bestselling author of Belong to Me, Love Walked In, and Falling Together comes a captivating novel about friendship, family, second chances, and the redemptive power of love. In all her life, Eustacia ?Taisy? Cleary has given her heart to only three men: her first love, Ben Ransom; her twin brother, Marcus; and Wilson... more...

  • The Strings of Murderby Oscar de Muriel

    Penguin Books Ltd 2015; US$ 9.01

    A spellbinding concoction of crime, history and horror - perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes and Jonathan Creek. The First Case for Frey & McGray. Edinburgh, 1888 . A violinist is murdered in his home. The dead virtuoso's maid swears she heard three musicians playing in the night. But with only one body in the locked practice room - and no way... more...