The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books

Most popular at the top

  • The Custom of the Countryby Edith Wharton

    The Floating Press 1913; US$ 3.99

    Can't get enough of the Gilded Age fast talkers, débutantes, and social climbers who populate Edith Wharton's exquisitely wrought novels? Fans of The House of Mirth and The Age of Innocence will love The Custom of the Country, which details country girl Undine Spragg's attempt to take a bite out of Big Apple high society. more...

  • The Age of Innocenceby Edith Wharton

    Penguin Books Ltd 2007; US$ 3.20

    The return of the beautiful Countess Olenska into the rigidly conventional society of New York sends reverberations throughout the upper reaches of society. Newland Archer, an eligible young man of the establishment is about to announce his engagement to May Welland, a pretty ingénue, when May's cousin, Countess Olenska, is introduced into... more...

  • Twilight Sleepby Edith Wharton

    Scribner 2012; US$ 2.50

    Out of print for several decades, here is Edith Wharton's superb satirical novel of the Jazz Age, a critically praised best-seller when it was first published in 1927. Sex, drugs, work, money, infatuation with the occult and spiritual healing -- these are the remarkably modern themes that animate Twilight Sleep. The extended family of Mrs. Manford... more...

  • The House of Mirthby Edith Wharton

    HarperCollins Canada 2013; Not Available

    Striking, sophisticated and witty, Lily Bart lives a life of expensive taste and civilised society in turn of the century New York. But nearing thirty and still unmarried, Lily?s place in society becomes uncertain without a husband to maintain her lifestyle and social standing. After rejecting several offers of marriage, Lily?s life spirals out of... more...

  • The Age of Innocenceby Edith Wharton; Stephen Orgel

    Oxford University Press, UK 2006; US$ 4.49

    Edith Wharton's most famous novel, written immediately after the end of the First World War, is a brilliantly realized anatomy of New York society in the 1870s. The charming Newland Archer is content to live within its constraints until he meets Ellen Olenska, whose arrival threatens his impending marriage as well as his comfortable future. - ;'They... more...

  • Ethan Fromeby Edith Wharton

    The Floating Press 1911; US$ 3.95

    In the fictional New England town of Starkfield, an unnamed narrator is forced to stay at the home of Ethan Frome during a winter storm. He relates his encounter with Frome, "the most striking figure in Starkfield, he was but the ruin of a man, with a careless powerful look - in spite of a lameness checking each step like the jerk of a chain".... more...

  • The Touchstoneby Edith Wharton

    The Floating Press 1900; US$ 4.99

    Stephen Glennard is in desperate need of money; his career is in ruins and he wants to marry his beautiful fiancee. He unearths the passionate love-letters written to him by the famous, now-deceased author Margaret Aubyn, and sells them, erasing only his name. He makes a fortune from the betrayal and begins his marriage from it. The Touchstone was... more...

  • The Valley of Decisionby Edith Wharton

    The Floating Press 1902; US$ 4.99

    Life at Pontesordo was in truth not very pleasant for an ardent and sensitive little boy of nine, whose remote connection with the reigning line of Pianura did not preserve him from wearing torn clothes and eating black bread and beans out of an earthen bowl on the kitchen doorstep. "Go ask your mother for new clothes!" Filomena would snap... more...

  • In Moroccoby Edith Wharton

    The Floating Press 1920; US$ 5.99

    American novelist and designer Edith Wharton traveled to Morocco after the end of World War I. Morocco is her account of her time there as the guest of General Hubert Lyautey. Her account praises Lyautey and his wife and also the French administration of the country. more...

  • The Age of Innocenceby Edith Wharton

    The Floating Press 1920; US$ 4.99

    The Age of Innocence is an intimate portrayal of East Coast American society in the 19th century--and the human lives that came into conflict with it. Newland Archer is heir to one of New York City's first families, and his bride-to-be is everything he ever hoped. Then his fiancee's older cousin leaves her European husband and appears in New... more...