The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, Sony Reader...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books

Most popular at the top

  • How Fiction Worksby James Wood

    Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2008; US$ 15.99

    What makes a story a story? What is style? What?s the connection between realism and real life? These are some of the questions James Wood answers in How Fiction Works , the first book-length essay by the preeminent critic of his generation. Ranging widely?from Homer to David Foster Wallace, from What Maisie Knew to Make Way for Ducklings ?Wood... more...

  • How Fiction Worksby James Wood

    Random House 2010; US$ 13.08

    In the tradition of E. M. Forster's Aspects of the Novel and Milan Kundera's The Art of the Novel , How Fiction Works is a scintillating and searching study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realism, and style. In his first full-length book of criticism, one of the most prominent critics... more...

  • The Broken Estateby James Wood

    Random House 2010; US$ 21.82

    In a series of long essays, James Wood examines the connection between literature and religious belief, in a startlingly wide group of writers. Wood re-appraises the writing of such figures as Thomas More, Jane Austen, Herman Melville, Anton Chekhov, Thomas Mann, Nikolai Gogol, Gustave Flaubert and Virginia Woolf, vigorously reading them against... more...

  • The Irresponsible Selfby James Wood

    Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2005; US$ 19.99

    "James Wood has been called our best young critic. This is not true. He is our best critic; he thinks with a sublime ferocity."--Cynthia Ozick Following the collection The Broken Estate --which established James Wood as the leading critic of his generation-- The Irresponsible Self confirms Wood's preeminence, not only as a discerning judge but... more...

  • The Book Against Godby James Wood

    Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2004; US$ 17.99

    A Passionate, Profoundly Funny First Novel from ?the Best Literary Critic of His Generation? (Adam Begley, Financial Times ) Thomas Bunting, the charming, chaotic, and deeply untruthful narrator of James Wood?s wonderful first novel, is in despair. His marriage is disintegrating and his academic career is in ruins: instead of completing his philosophy... more...

  • The Fun Stuff and Other Essaysby James Wood

    Random House 2013; US$ 13.08

    Following The Broken Estate , The Irresponsible Self , and How Fiction Works - books that established James Wood as the leading critic of his generation - The Fun Stuff confirms Wood's pre-eminence, not only as a discerning judge but also as an appreciator of the contemporary novel. In twenty-three passionate, sparkling dispatches... more...

  • The Fun Stuffby James Wood

    Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2012; US$ 17.99

    Following The Broken Estate , The Irresponsible Self , and How Fiction Works ?books that established James Wood as the leading critic of his generation? The Fun Stuff c onfirms Wood?s preeminence, not only as a discerning judge but also as an appreciator of the contemporary novel. In twenty-three passionate, sparkling dispatches?that range over... more...

  • The Book of Common Prayerby James Wood

    Penguin Group US 2012; US$ 16.99

    This exquisite Deluxe Edition of the Anglican prayer book and literary masterpiece commemorates the 350th anniversary of the 1662 edition intimately familiar to our most enduring writers (Austen, Swift, the Brontės). It features a new introduction by The New Yorker ?s book critic, James Wood, discussing how it has influenced the English language and... more...

  • The Society of Equalityby James Wood

    University of New Mexico Press 2011; US$ 29.95

    Wood argues that the "œSociety of Equality" set a new standard for democratic thought and action in Chilean history and was arguably the most democratic political association of its era in all of Latin America. more...

  • The Irresponsible Selfby James Wood

    Random House 2013; US$ 18.91

    When James Wood's first collection of essays, The Broken Estate , was published in 1999, the reviewers hailed a master critic. The common thread in Wood's latest collection of essays is what makes us laugh - and the book is an attempt to distinguish between the perhaps rather limited English comedy (as seen in Waugh, for example) and a 'continental'... more...