The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,972,089 members ⚫ 1,310,169 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books

Most popular at the top

  • Year of the Four Emperorsby Kenneth Wellesley

    Taylor and Francis 2002; US$ 41.95

    After Nero's notorious reign, the Romans surely deserved a period of peace and tranquility. Instead, during AD69, three emperors were murdered: Galba, just days into the post, Otho and Vitellius. The same year also saw civil war in Italy, two desperate battles at Cremona and the capture of Rome for Vespasian, which action saw the fourth emperor of... more...

  • Caligulaby Sam Wilkinson

    Taylor and Francis 2004; US$ 30.95

    Sam Wilkinson provides an accessible introduction to the reign of Caligula, one of the most controversial of all the Roman Emperors. Caligula's policies have often been interpreted to be those of a depraved tyrant. This study provides a reassessment of this controversial reign by scrutinising the ancient literary sources that are so hostile to Caligula,... more...

  • Emperor Constantineby Hans A. Pohlsander

    Taylor and Francis 2004; US$ 30.95

    First published in 2004. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company. more...

  • Neroby Jurgen Malitz

    Wiley 2005; US$ 34.95 US$ 31.46

    In this rigorously researched biography Jürgen Malitz invites readers to reconsider the reputation of the Roman Emperor Nero. Focuses on the growing tension between Nero’s artistic tendencies and his role as emperor. Steers readers through the diverse interpretations of Nero that have arisen through the ages. Allows... more...

  • A Critical History of Early Romeby Gary Forsythe

    University of California Press 2005; US$ 33.95

    During the period from Rome's Stone Age beginnings on the Tiber River to its conquest of the Italian peninsula in 264 B.C., the Romans in large measure developed the social, political, and military structure that would be the foundation of their spectacular imperial success. In this comprehensive and clearly written account, Gary Forsythe draws extensively... more...

  • The Romansby Mary T. Boatwright; Daniel J. Gargola; Richard J. A. Talbert

    Oxford University Press 2004; US$ 40.99

    How did a single village community in the Italian peninsula eventually become one of the mightiest imperial powers the world has ever known? In The Romans, Mary T. Boatwright, Daniel Gargola, and Richard J.A. Talbert tackle this question as they guide readers through a comprehensive sweep of Roman history, ranging from the prehistoric settlements to... more...

  • The Fall of the Roman Republicby David Shotter

    Taylor and Francis 2005; US$ 30.95

    Revised and updated to include the latest research in the field, this second edition of a popular history text examines how the Roman republic was destabilized by the unplanned growth of the Roman Empire. Central discussion points include: the government of the republic how certain individuals took advantage of the expansion of the empire Julius... more...

  • Greek and Roman historiography in late antiquityby G. Marasco

    BRILL 2003; US$ 285.00

    A comprehensive analysis of Greek and Latin historiography from Constantine to the end of the sixth century AD. It aims to examine the development of late antique historiography, stressing the relations between pagan and Christian historians, their polemics, and their often neglected agreements. more...

  • A History of Rome under the Emperorsby Theodor Mommsen; Alexander Demandt

    Taylor and Francis 2005; US$ 48.95

    This book caused a sensation when it was published in Germany in 1992, and was front page news in many newspapers. For readers of English, it will be an authoritative survey of four centuries of Roman history, and a unique window on the German tradition of the last century. Theodor Mommsen (d. 1903) was one of the greatest Roman historians of the nineteenth... more...

  • Augustusby Anthony Everitt

    Random House Publishing Group 2006; US$ 18.00

    He found Rome made of clay and left it made of marble. As Rome’s first emperor, Augustus transformed the unruly Republic into the greatest empire the world had ever seen. His consolidation and expansion of Roman power two thousand years ago laid the foundations, for all of Western history to follow. Yet, despite Augustus’s accomplishments, very few... more...