The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,788,875 members ⚫ 1,234,658 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books

Most popular at the top

  • A History of Rome under the Emperorsby Theodor Mommsen; Alexander Demandt

    Taylor and Francis 2005; US$ 48.95

    This book caused a sensation when it was published in Germany in 1992, and was front page news in many newspapers. For readers of English, it will be an authoritative survey of four centuries of Roman history, and a unique window on the German tradition of the last century. Theodor Mommsen (d. 1903) was one of the greatest Roman historians of the nineteenth... more...

  • Augustusby Anthony Everitt

    Random House Publishing Group 2006; US$ 18.00

    He found Rome made of clay and left it made of marble. As Rome?s first emperor, Augustus transformed the unruly Republic into the greatest empire the world had ever seen. His consolidation and expansion of Roman power two thousand years ago laid the foundations, for all of Western history to follow. Yet, despite Augustus?s accomplishments, very few... more...

  • 69 ADby Gwyn Morgan

    Oxford University Press 2006; US$ 15.99

    The Year of Four Emperors, was one of the most chaotic, violent, and frightening periods in all Roman history. This book offers a fresh look at this period. This narrative history features portraits of the leading participants and insights into the nature of the Roman military. more...

  • Julia Augustiby Elaine Fantham

    Taylor and Francis 2006; US$ 40.95

    This scholarly biography details the life of an extraordinary woman in an extraordinary society. Julia Augusti studies the life of the only daughter of Augustus, the first Roman emperor, and the father who sacrificed his daughter and her children in order to establish a dynasty. Studying the abundant historical evidence available, this biography... more...

  • The Augustan Successionby Peter Michael Swan

    Oxford University Press 2004; US$ 184.99

    The Augustan Succession is an historical commentary on Books 55-56 of Dio's Roman History . These books recount the last half of the reign of the Emperor Augustus, above all his orchestration of the first imperial succession. Addressed to both students and scholars, the new commentary is the first since the eighteenth century to offer full and fresh... more...

  • Julius Caesar Study Guideby William Shakespeare; Laurel and Associates

    Saddleback Publishing 2003; US$ 24.95

    35 reproducible exercises in each guide reinforce basic reading and comprehension skills as they teach higher order critical thinking skills and literary appreciation. Teaching suggestions, background notes, act-by-act summaries, and answer keys included. more...

  • The Age of Augustusby Werner Eck

    Blackwell Publishing Ltd. 2012; US$ 75.95 US$ 65.82

    In this concise biography, Professor Werner Eck, one of the world's leading experts on the Roman empire, tells the extraordinary story of Augustus, Rome's first emperor. A concise and gripping account of Augustus and his age. Written by one of the world's foremost experts on the Roman Empire. Examines the transformation of Rome from a republic... more...

  • Annalsby Tacitus; A. J. Woodman

    Hackett Publishing Company, Inc. 2004; US$ 15.95

    A.J. Woodman?s translation combines accuracy and Tacitean invention, masterfully conveying Tacitus? distinctive and powerful manner of expression, and reflecting the best of current scholarship. An introductory essay discusses Tacitus? career, the period about which he wrote, the nature of historical writing in the Roman world, and the principles of... more...

  • The Age of Augustusby Werner Eck

    Wiley 2007; US$ 39.95 US$ 34.62

    In this updated edition of his concise biography, Werner Eck tells the extraordinary story of Augustus, Rome's first monarch. Incorporates literary, archaeological, and legal sources to provide a vivid narrative of Augustus’ brutal rise to power Written by one of the world’s leading experts on the Roman empire Traces... more...

  • Corneliaby Suzanne Dixon

    Taylor and Francis 2007; US$ 40.95

    Examining the remarkable life of Cornelia, famed as the epitome of virtue, fidelity and intelligence, Suzanne Dixon presents an in-depth study of the woman who perhaps represented the ideal of the Roman matrona more than any other. Studying her life during a period of political turmoil, Dixon examines Cornelia's attributes: daughter of Scipio Africanus,... more...