The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,508,729 members ⚫ 2,065,349 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Cultural

  • Föderalismus und Souveränität im Bundesstaatby Steven Schäller

    Springer Fachmedien Wiesbaden 2016; US$ 54.99

    Steven Schäller präsentiert eine umfassende Studiezum Problem der Bundesstaatlichkeit unter dem Grundgesetz. Zunächst werden diebeiden Begriffe ?Föderalismus? und ?Bundesstaat? als ideengeschichtlich weitzurückreichende und theoretisch-systematisch verankerte Topoi grundlegendaufgearbeitet. Daran schließt sich eine Analyse der Rechtsprechungspraxis... more...

  • Pinpointby Greg Milner

    Granta Publications 2016; US$ 19.99

    A big-think book which tells the riveting story of GPS (Global Positioning System) and how it is affecting our brains, our technology, and our culture, in the tradition of James Gleick and Nicholas Carr more...

  • Man Upby Rebecca Asher

    Random House 2016; US$ 21.14

    What does it mean to be a man today? Much is being done to change negative female stereotypes but we still expect that big boys don?t cry, strong and silent types get the girl, and that there is such a thing as a ?real man?. Man Up challenges the accepted rules of masculinity. It confronts the reasons why boys are three times more likely than girls... more...

  • The Unsettled Sectorby Analiese Richard

    Stanford University Press 2016; US$ 24.95

    In late twentieth century Mexico, the NGO "boom" was hailed as an harbinger of social change and democratic transition, with NGOs poised to transform the relationship between states and civil society on a global scale. And yet, great as the expectations were for NGOs to empower the poor and disenfranchised, their work is rooted in much older civic... more...

  • Lift Your Spiritsby Elizabeth M. Williams; Chris McMillian; Dale DeGroff

    LSU Press 2016; US$ 22.50

    The Sazerac, the Hurricane, and the absinthe glass of Herbsaint are among the many well-known creations native to New Orleans's longstanding drinking culture. But more than vehicles for alcohol, the cocktails and spirits that complement the city's culinary prowess are each a token of its history. In every bar-side toast or street-corner daiquiri you... more...

  • Rights Rememberedby Pauline R. Hillaire; Gregory P. Fields

    UNP - Nebraska 2016; US$ 65.00

    Rights Remembered is a remarkable historical narrative and autobiography written by esteemed Lummi elder and culture bearer Pauline R. Hillaire, Scälla?Of the Killer Whale. A direct descendant of the immediate postcontact generation of Coast Salish in Washington State, Hillaire combines in her narrative life experiences, Lummi oral traditions preserved... more...

  • Urban Morphologyby Vítor Oliveira

    Springer International Publishing 2016; US$ 129.00

    This is a book about cities or, more precisely, about the physical form of cities. It starts presenting the main elements of urban form ? streets, urban blocks, plots and buildings ? structuring our cities and the fundamental actors and processes of transformation shaping these elements. It then applies this analytical framework to describe the evolution... more...

  • Humour, Comedy and Laughterby Lidia Dina Sciama

    Berghahn Books 2016; US$ 29.95

    Anthropological writings on humour are not very numerous or extensive, but they do contain a great deal of insight into the diverse mental and social processes that underlie joking and laughter. On the basis of a wide range of ethnographic and textual materials, the chapters examine the cognitive, social, and moral aspects of humour and its potential... more...

  • Trusting and its Tribulationsby Vigdis Broch-Due; Margit Ystanes

    Berghahn Books 2016; US$ 34.95

    Despite its immense significance and ubiquity in our everyday lives, the complex workings of trust are poorly understood and theorized. This volume explores trust and mistrust amidst locally situated scenes of sociality and intimacy. Because intimacy has often been taken for granted as the foundation of trust relations, the ethnographies presented... more...

  • World Heritage on the Groundby Christoph Brumann; David Berliner

    Berghahn Books 2016; US$ 99.00

    The UNESCO World Heritage Convention of 1972 set the contemporary standard for cultural and natural conservation. Today, a place on the World Heritage List is much sought after for tourism promotion, development funding, and national prestige. Presenting case studies from across the globe, particularly from Africa and Asia, anthropologists with situated... more...