The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Criticism & Interpretation

  • The Grammar of Godby Aviya Kushner

    Random House Publishing Group 2015; US$ 27.00

    For readers of Bruce Feiler?s Walking the Bible and Kathleen Norris?s The Cloister Walk comes a powerful exploration of the Bible in translation.   Aviya Kushner grew up in a Hebrew-speaking family, reading the Bible in the original Hebrew and debating its meaning over the dinner table. She knew much of it by heart?and was therefore surprised... more...

  • The Sensual Godby Aviad M. Kleinberg

    Columbia University Press 2015; US$ 34.99

    In the Old Testament, God wrestles with a man (and loses). In the Talmud, God wriggles his toes to make thunder and takes human form to shave the king of Assyria. In the New Testament, God is made flesh and dwells among humans. For religious thinkers trained in Greek philosophy and its deep distaste for matter, sacred scripture can be distressing.... more...

  • Engaging the Passionby Oliver Larry Yarbrough

    Fortress Press 2015; US$ 43.99

    Engaging the Passion gathers an impressive array of scholars to survey how the death of Jesus has been portrayed and represented in Scripture, liturgy and music, literature, art and film, and theology and ethics?from the first to the twenty-first centuries. The contributors approach the passion from a variety of perspectives?diversely Christian, Jewish,... more...

  • The Ultimate Three Minutesby William Cummings

    Sussex Academic Press 2015; US$ 14.99

    The title of this book borrows from two distinguished scientists: Steven Weinberg describes the developments of the first three minutes of the universe following the explosion of the ?Big Bang? 13.8 billion years ago; Paul Davis describes the final subsidence of the universe into entropy and heat death. The Ultimate Three Minutes: The Story of Two... more...

  • Pillars of Cloud and Fireby Herbert Robinson Marbury

    NYU Press 2015; US$ 21.10

    At the birth of the United States, African Americans were excluded from the newly-formed Republic and its churches, which saw them as savage rather than citizen and as heathen rather than Christian. Denied civil access to the basic rights granted to others, African Americans have developed their own sacred traditions and their own civil discourses.... more...

  • Reconceiving Infertilityby Candida R. Moss; Joel S. Baden

    Princeton University Press 2015; US$ 35.00

    In the Book of Genesis, the first words God speaks to humanity are ?Be fruitful and multiply.? From ancient times to today, these words have been understood as a divine command to procreate. Fertility is viewed as a sign of blessedness and moral uprightness, while infertility is associated with sin and moral failing. Reconceiving Infertility explores... more...

  • The Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Apocryphaby Andrew Gregory; Christopher Tuckett; Tobias Nicklas

    Oxford University Press 2015; US$ 149.99

    The Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Apocrypha addresses issues and themes that arise in the study of early Christian apocryphal literature. It discusses key texts including the Gospel of Thomas, the Gospel of Mary, the Gospel of Peter, letters attributed to Paul, Peter, and Jesus, and acts and apocalypses written about or attributed to different... more...

  • Encountering the Old Testament (Encountering Biblical Studies)by Bill T. Arnold; Bryan E. Beyer; Walter Elwell

    Baker Publishing Group 2015; US$ 49.99

    This bestselling evangelical survey of the Old Testament is beautifully designed with four-color illustrations. more...

  • Markby Darrell Bock

    Cambridge University Press 2015; US$ 30.00

    This comprehensive, accessible introduction discusses the meaning and significance of Mark's gospel, widely considered the first recorded treatment of Jesus. more...

  • Power, Ethics, and Ecology in Jewish Late Antiquityby Julia Watts Belser

    Cambridge University Press 2015; US$ 80.00

    Analyzes rabbinic responses to drought and disaster, revealing how talmudic tales of charismatic holy men grapple with problems of power, ethics, and ecology in Jewish late antiquity. more...