The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,788,875 members ⚫ 1,234,658 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Historical

Most popular at the top

  • Team of Rivalsby Doris Kearns Goodwin

    Simon & Schuster 2006; US$ 21.00

    Winner of the Lincoln Prize Acclaimed historian Doris Kearns Goodwin illuminates Lincoln's political genius in this highly original work, as the one-term congressman and prairie lawyer rises from obscurity to prevail over three gifted rivals of national reputation to become president. On May 18, 1860, William H. Seward, Salmon P. Chase, Edward... more...

  • Gallipoli Sniperby John Hamilton

    Pan Macmillan Australia 2008; US$ 1.81

    A powerful and very different account of war and its effect on those who fight The Anzac battlefield on Gallipoli was made for snipers. Scrub, cliffs, spurs and hills meant that both Anzac and Turkish positions often overlooked one another. The unwary or unlucky were prey to snipers on both sides, and the sudden crack of a gunshot and instant death... more...

  • In the Garden of Beastsby Erik Larson

    Crown/Archetype 2011; US$ 17.00

    Erik Larson, New York Times bestselling author of Devil in the White City, delivers a remarkable story set during Hitler?s rise to power. The time is 1933, the place, Berlin, when William E. Dodd becomes America?s first ambassador to Hitler?s Nazi Germany in a year that proved to be a turning point in history.     A mild-mannered professor... more...

  • The Surgeon of Crowthorneby Simon Winchester

    Penguin Books Ltd 2002; US$ 14.09

    The making of the Oxford English Dictionary was a monumental 50 year task requiring thousands of volunteers. One of the keenest volunteers was a W C Minor who astonished everyone by refusing to come to Oxford to receive his congratulations. In the end, James Murray, the OED's editor, went to Crowthorne in Berkshire to meet him. What he found was incredible... more...

  • The Borgiasby Alexandre Dumas

    The Floating Press 1841; US$ 4.99

    Nobody has ever detailed history's most ruthless rulers and tyrants with as much flair and passion as French writer Alexandre Dumas. This gripping exposition of the Borgias, the Italian clan that earned notoriety as one of the world's most power-hungry and corrupt families, is a pulse-pounding read that fans of the true crime genre will find... more...

  • My Face Is Black Is Trueby Mary Frances Berry

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2009; US$ 16.95

    Acclaimed historian Mary Frances Berry resurrects the remarkable story of ex-slave Callie House who, seventy years before the civil-rights movement, demanded reparations for ex-slaves. A widowed Nashville washerwoman and mother of five, House (1861-1928) went on to fight for African American pensions based on those offered to Union soldiers, brilliantly... more...

  • The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklinby Benjamin Franklin

    Dover Publications 2012; US$ 0.99

    Charming self-portrait covers boyhood, work as a printer, political career, scientific experiments, much more. Its openness, honesty, and readable style have made the Autobiography one of the great classics of the genre. more...

  • The Last Highlander: Scotland?s Most Notorious Clan Chief, Rebel & Double Agentby Sarah Fraser

    HarperCollins Publishers 2012; US$ 8.36

    Fans of C.J. Sansom and Diana Gabaldon?s Outlander series must read this Saltire Scottish First Book of the Year ? a great non-fiction adventure about Scotland?s most notorious clan chief. more...

  • I Am Malalaby Malala Yousafzai

    Orion 2013; US$ 9.99

    *Winner of the 2014 Nobel Peace Prize* When the Taliban took control of the Swat Valley, one girl fought for her right to an education. On Tuesday, 9 October 2012, she almost paid the ultimate price when she was shot in the head at point-blank range. Malala Yousafzai's extraordinary journey has taken her from a remote valley in northern Pakistan... more...

  • Infidelby Ayaan Hirsi Ali

    Atria Books 2007; US$ 17.00

    In this profoundly affecting memoir from the internationally renowned author of The Caged Virgin and Nomad, Ayaan Hirsi Ali tells her astonishing life story, from her traditional Muslim childhood in Somalia, Saudi Arabia, and Kenya, to her intellectual awakening and activism in the Netherlands, and her current life under armed guard in the West.... more...