The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Literary

Most popular at the top

  • Desert Flowerby Waris Dirie; Cathleen Miller

    HarperCollins 2009; Not Available

    Waris Dirie leads a double life -- by day, she is an international supermodel and human rights ambassador for the United Nations; by night, she dreams of the simplicity of life in her native Somalia and the family she was forced to leave behind. Desert Flower, her intimate and inspiring memoir, is a must-read for anyone who has ever wondered about... more...

  • Belleby Paula Byrne

    HarperCollins 2014; US$ 11.99

    From acclaimed biographer Paula Byrne, the sensational true tale that inspired the major motion picture  Belle  (May 2014) starring Tom Wilkinson, Miranda Richardson, Emily Watson, Penelope Wilton, and Matthew Goode?a stunning story of the first mixed-race girl introduced to high society England and raised as a lady.   The illegitimate daughter of... more...

  • Exilesby Michael J. Arlen

    Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2014; US$ 15.99

    Back in print, ?a wry and moving . . . rare and minute accounting of growing up.? ( Time ) Exiles is the story of two glamorous people ? one, a beautiful aristocrat; the other, a self-made man, one of the most famous authors of the 1920s. In this slender volume, which was nominated for the 1970 National Book Award and helped reestablish the memoir... more...

  • Farleyby James King

    HarperCollins Canada 2014; US$ 15.99

    Exuberant, mercurial, melancholic, gregarious and generous—Farley Mowat, one of our most beloved writers, is brought to life in this remarkable biography Bestselling author James King has created a masterful and intimate portrait of this many-layered man: his failed relationships, his wanderlust, his compassion for the underdog, his lasting marriage... more...

  • "To Be an Author"by Jr. Joseph McElrath; III Robert C. Leitz

    Princeton University Press 2014; US$ 33.00

    Collected in this volume are the 1889--1905 letters of one of the first African-American literary artists to cross the "color line" into the de facto segregated American publishing industry of the turn of the century. Selected for inclusion are those chronicling the rise of Charles W. Chesnutt (1858-1932), an attorney and businessman in Cleveland,... more...

  • World Enough and Timeby Nicholas Murray

    St. Martin's Press 2014; US$ 8.99

    Although the century which followed Andrew Marvell's death remembered him primarily as a politician and a pamphleteer, this gifted poet is responsible for some of the most brilliant lyric exploration of his time. This is an extensive biography written by a biographer whose literary scholarship and political astuteness matches that of his subject.... more...

  • Jane Austenby David Nokes

    Faber & Faber 2014; US$ 17.49

    'Pictures of perfection make me sick and wicked,' Jane Austen wrote to her niece Fanny Knight a few months before she died. Yet most traditional accounts of Austen's life have insisted on portraying her as just such a picture of perfection. In his 1997 biography David Nokes re-examined Austen, and presented a far richer and livelier picture of the... more...

  • Jonathan Swiftby David Nokes

    Faber & Faber 2014; US$ 16.03

    'The best biography of Swift to date.' Michael Foot, Observer 'David Nokes's book is splendid.' Denis Donoghue, London Review of Books David Nokes presents a gripping and authoritative portrait of Swift in his multifarious roles as satirist, politician, churchman and friend. Drawing on the most recent scholarship, he seeks in particular... more...

  • A World of Lightby May Sarton

    Open Road Media 2014; US$ 14.99

    This captivating book by May Sarton rejoices in friendship and family  In  A World of Light , renowned poet and novelist May Sarton renders unforgettable portraits of the friends she considers family?and the family she looks upon as friends. From her father, famed science historian George Sarton, she learns that work is ?of the first importance.?... more...

  • North of Normalby Cea Sunrise Person

    HarperCollins 2014; US$ 17.99

    Sex, drugs, and . . . bug stew? In the vein of The Glass Castle and Wild, Cea Sunrise Person?s compelling memoir of a childhood spent with her dysfunctional counter-culture family in the Canadian wilderness?a searing story of physical, emotional, and psychological survival. In the late 1960s, riding the crest of the counterculture movement, Cea?s... more...