The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Hard-Boiled

Most popular at the top

  • In the Midst of Deathby Lawrence Block

    HarperCollins 2009; US$ 7.99

    Bad cop Jerry Broadfield didn't make any friends on the force when he volunteered to squeal to an ambitious d.a. about police corruption. Now he'saccused of murdering a call girl. Matthew Scudder doesn't think Broadfield's a killer, but the cops aren't about to help the unlicensed p.i. prove it -- and they may do a lot worse than just get in his way.... more...

  • The Big Bounceby Elmore Leonard

    HarperCollins 2009; US$ 12.99

    ?The greatest crime writer of our time, perhaps ever!? ? New York Times Book Review When the all-time greats of mystery/noir/crime fiction are mentioned (John D. MacDonald, Dashiell Hammett, James M. Cain, Robert Parker, etc.), Elmore Leonard?s name invariably tops the list. A true Leonard classic, The Big Bounce showcases all of the Grand Master?s... more...

  • Stickby Elmore Leonard

    HarperCollins 2009; US$ 7.99

    ?A little beauty of a story?.A hot, fast read with pungent characters.? ? Los Angeles Times ?A slam-bang, no-bull action thriller?and nobody but nobody writes better dialogue.? ? New York Daily News It?s an established fact: Elmore Leonard is ?the uncontested master of the crime thriller? ( Washington Post ) who ?does crime fiction better than... more...

  • Sacredby Dennis Lehane

    HarperCollins 2009; US$ 9.99

    A beautiful, grief-stricken woman has vanished without a trace. So has the detective hired to find her. And a lot of money? Enter tough-nosed private investigators Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro. Rooted in the streets of blue-collar Dorchester, they've seen it all ? and survived. But this case leads them into unexpected territory: a place of lies... more...

  • Prayers for Rainby Dennis Lehane

    HarperCollins 2009; US$ 9.99

    When a former client jumps naked from a Boston landmark, Private Investigator Patrick Kenzie wants to know why. Once a perky young woman in love with life, her suicide is the final fall in a spiral of self-destruction. What Kenzie discovers is a sadistic stalker who targeted the woman and methodically drove her to her death ? a monster that the law... more...

  • Moonlight Mileby Dennis Lehane

    HarperCollins 2010; US$ 9.99

    ?[Lehane has] emerged from the whodunit ghetto as a broader and more substantial talent....When it comes to keeping readers exactly where he wants them, Mr. Lehane offers a bravura demonstration of how it?s done.? ? New York Times Moonlight Mile is the first Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro suspense novel in more than a decade from the acclaimed,... more...

  • The Maltese Falconby Dashiell Hammett

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2010; US$ 14.00

    The Boston Globe ? The Maltese Falcon is not only probably the best detective story we have ever read, it is an exceedingly well written novel.? ? The Times Literary Supplement (London) ?Hammett?s prose [is] clean and entirely unique. His characters [are] as sharply and economically defined as any in American fiction.? ? The New York Times ... more...

  • Jacqui Rose 2 Book Bundleby Jacqui Rose

    HarperCollins Publishers 2013; Not Available

    A bargain set of two gritty and gripping reads from a fantastic female crime writer. Perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Jessie Keane. more...

  • Rose Goldby Walter Mosley

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2014; US$ 15.95

    Rose Gold is two colors, one woman, and a big headache. In this new mystery set in the Patty Hearst era of radical black nationalism and political abductions, a black ex-boxer self-named Uhuru Nolica, the leader of a revolutionary cell called Scorched Earth, has kidnapped Rosemary Goldsmith, the daughter of a weapons manufacturer, from her dorm... more...

  • The Governor's Wifeby Michael Harvey

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2015; US$ 24.95

    In the latest installment in Michael Harvey?s beloved Michael Kelly series, Chicago?s favorite Ovid-reading, gun-toting private investigator takes on Illinois?s first family in a blistering thriller that charts the border where ambition ends and evil begins. It?s been two years since disgraced Illinois governor Ray Perry disappeared from a federal... more...