The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,794,961 members ⚫ 1,236,034 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Hard-Boiled

Most popular at the top

  • Time to Murder and Createby Lawrence Block

    HarperCollins 2009; US$ 5.99

    Small-time stoolie, Jake " The Spinner" Jablon, made a lot of new enemies when he switched careers, from informer to blackmailer. And the more "clients", he figured, the more money -- and more people eager to see him dead. So no one is surprised when the pigeon is found floating in the East River with his skull bashed in.And what's worse, no one cares... more...

  • In the Midst of Deathby Lawrence Block

    HarperCollins 2009; US$ 5.99

    Bad cop Jerry Broadfield didn't make any friends on the force when he volunteered to squeal to an ambitious d.a. about police corruption. Now he'saccused of murdering a call girl. Matthew Scudder doesn't think Broadfield's a killer, but the cops aren't about to help the unlicensed p.i. prove it -- and they may do a lot worse than just get in his way.... more...

  • The Sins of the Fathersby Lawrence Block

    HarperCollins 2009; US$ 2.99

    The pretty young prostitute is dead. Her alleged murderer?a minister's son?hanged himself in his jail cell. The case is closed. But the dead girl's fatherhas come to Matthew Scudder for answers, sending the unlicensed private investigator in search of terrible truths about a life that was lived and lost in a sordid world of perversion and pleasures.... more...

  • Master's Mates by Peter Corris

    Allen & Unwin 2003; US$ 15.45

    Peter Corris' world weary but always charismatic hero Cliff Hardy has long been established as Australia's favourite investigator. Often bloodied but never bowed in this latest gripping novel, Hardy is in pursuit of missing millions from Sydney to the Pacific Islands. more...

  • Moonlight Mileby Dennis Lehane

    HarperCollins 2010; US$ 7.49

    ?[Lehane has] emerged from the whodunit ghetto as a broader and more substantial talent....When it comes to keeping readers exactly where he wants them, Mr. Lehane offers a bravura demonstration of how it?s done.? ? New York Times Moonlight Mile is the first Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro suspense novel in more than a decade from the acclaimed,... more...

  • The Maltese Falconby Dashiell Hammett

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2010; US$ 14.95

    A treasure worth killing for. Sam Spade, a slightly shopworn private eye with his own solitary code of ethics. A perfumed grafter named Joel Cairo, a fat man name Gutman, and Brigid O?Shaughnessy, a beautiful and treacherous woman whose loyalties shift at the drop of a dime. These are the ingredients of Dashiell Hammett?s coolly glittering gem of detective... more...

  • The Big Sleepby Raymond Chandler

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2002; US$ 15.95

    In crime fiction master Raymond Chandler's iconic first novel, a dying millionaire hires private eye Philip Marlowe to handle the blackmailer of one of his two troublesome daughters, and Marlowe finds himself involved with more than extortion. Kidnapping, pornography, seduction, and murder are just a few of the complications he gets caught up... more...

  • Promises of Bloodby David Thorne

    Atlantic Books 2016; US$ 2.99

    Even the dead like to keep their secrets. When William Gove, a dying millionaire and patriarch of a vast estate in Essex, asks Daniel Connell to execute his will, Daniel has no idea what he's getting himself into. Rather than leave his fortune to his three children, Gove has chosen ten names at random from the phone book. When he dies, Daniel sets... more...

  • The Hanging Girlby Jussi Adler-Olsen; William Frost

    Quercus 2015; US$ 21.99

    THE 12.5 MILLION COPY BESTSELLING AUTHOR. Superstar author Jussi Adler-Olsen returns with the newest book in his Department Q series. For fans of Tim Weaver and Jo Nesbo. In the middle of a hard-won morning nap in the basement of police headquarters, Carl Mørck, head of Department Q, receives a call from a colleague working on the Danish island... more...

  • Birds of Preyby J. A. Jance

    HarperCollins 2009; US$ 7.49

    The Starfire Breeze steams its way north toward the Gulf of Alaska, buffeted by crisp sea winds blowing down from the Arctic. Those on board are seeking peace, relaxation, adventure, escape. But there is no escape in this place of unspoiled natural majesty. Because terror strolls the decks even in the brilliant light of day . . . and death is a conspicuous,... more...