The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,915,026 members ⚫ 1,276,665 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books

  • The Definitive Shakespeare Companion: Overviews, Documents, and Analysis [4 volumes]by Joseph Rosenblum

    ABC-CLIO 2017; US$ 415.00

    Shakespeare's works often served to convey simple truths, but they are also complex, multilayered masterpieces. Shakespeare drew on varied sources to create his plays, and while the plays are sometimes set in worlds before the Elizabethan age, they nonetheless parallel and comment on situations in his own era. Written with the needs of students in... more...

  • Heiner Müller's Democratic Theaterby Michael Wood

    Boydell & Brewer 2017; Not Available

    Analyzes not just Müller's texts but also the theatrical events that emerged from them, showing that from the beginning of his career Müller tried to create democracy both within and outside the theater. more...

  • Shakespearean Starby Jennifer Barnes

    Cambridge University Press 2017; US$ 80.00

    This is the first study to comprehensively analyse Laurence Olivier's Shakespearean films alongside his unique Shakespearean star image. more...

  • The Genius of Jane Austenby Paula Byrne

    HarperCollins 2017; US$ 13.59

    Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this updated edition of Paula Byrne's debut book includes new material that explores the history of Austen stage adaptations, why her books work so well on screen, and what that reveals about one of the world's most beloved authors. Originally published by Bloomsbury Academic in 2003 as Jane Austen and the Theatre... more...

  • Plays for Todayby Kenneth Jaikaransingh

    Hodder Education 2017; US$ 10.99

    Ti-Jean and his Brothers was Derek Walcott's first venture into musical plays and is still his most popular work. A lilting St Lucian folk-tale, it tells the story of a poor family who dwell on the edge of a magical forest haunted by the devil's spirits. The brilliance of Walcott's writing draws us into the realms of fantasy where the actual and... more...

  • Mighty Atoms (NHB Modern Plays)by Amanda Whittington

    Nick Hern Books 2017; US$ 12.49

    Ex-boxer Taylor Flint wants to put the past behind her. Yet back on the Hull estate where she grew up, she is drawn into running a boxercise class. For Lauren, Jazz, Aneta and Grace, boxercise soon becomes more than a way to lose weight and have a laugh. Life is tough and throwing the punches helps them to face their challenges. The class meet in... more...

  • Hamletby Robert Icke; Ilinca Radulian

    OBERON BOOKS Ltd 2017; US$ 12.99

    ghost / devil acting / madness be / not be This is the text that was performed during the run at the Almeida Theatre. more...

  • Anatomy of a Suicideby Alice Birch

    OBERON BOOKS Ltd 2017; US$ 12.99

    “My mother always said to Live Big. Live as much as I could.’’ Three generations of women. For each, the chaos of what has come before brings with it a painful legacy. “I have Stayed. I have Stayed - I have Stayed for as long as I possibly can.” Anatomy of a Suicide premiered at the Royal Court Theatre, London, in the Jerwood Theatre... more...

  • Theatre and Governance in Britain, 1500–1900by Tony Fisher

    Cambridge University Press 2017; US$ 80.00

    A critical evaluation of how theatre was assimilated to the interests of government by suppressing 'democratic' disorders associated with the stage. more...

  • Renaissance Ecopolitics from Shakespeare to Baconby Elizabeth D. Gruber

    Taylor and Francis 2017; US$ 54.95

    The work of Shakespeare and his contemporaries has often been the testing-ground for innovations in literary studies, but this has not been true of ecocriticism. This is partly because, until recently, most ecologically minded writers have located the origins of ecological crisis in the Enlightenment, with the legacies of the Cartesian cogito singled... more...