The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,907,956 members ⚫ 1,273,926 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Eastern

Most popular at the top

  • The Zookeeper's Wifeby Diane Ackerman

    Headline 2013; US$ 12.99

    In war-torn Warsaw, a zookeeper and his wife refuse to surrender... Now a major motion picture starring Jessica Chastain and Daniel Brühl, Diane Ackerman's The Zookeeper's Wife is based on a remarkable true story of bravery and sanctuary during World War II. Perfect for fans of Lion and Hidden Figures. 'I can't imagine a better... more...

  • The Devil's Gardenby John Cencich

    Potomac Books 2013; US$ 29.95

    In 2002 John Cencich traveled to a safe house in Belgrade to interview the former head of a Yugoslav secret intelligence agency. In less than an hour, Cencich had what he needed: corroboration of information provided by another spy. This evidence would be used against Slobodan Miloševic in his war crimes trial at The Hague. For the veteran United... more...

  • Death in the Balticby Cathryn J. Prince

    St. Martin's Press 2013; US$ 6.79

    The worst maritime disaster ever occurred during World War II, when more than 9,000 German civilians drowned. It went unreported. January 1945: The outcome of World War II has been determined. The Third Reich is in free fall as the Russians close in from the east. Berlin plans an eleventh-hour exodus for the German civilians trapped in the Red Army's... more...

  • The Idea of Galiciaby Larry Wolff

    Stanford University Press 2012; US$ 27.95

    The Idea of Galicia analyzes the intellectual and cultural history of a place as an idea: how Galicia, invented in the late eighteenth century as a geopolitical artifice, gradually acquired complex meaning over the course of its historical existence (and even beyond) for the peoples— Poles, Ukrainians, and Jews— who lived there and for the political... more...

  • The Price of Freedomby Alex Domokos; Rita Y. Toews

    Hard Shell Word Factory 2002; US$ 6.00

    Join me in my journey to freedom, I will take you to the slave labor camps of post World War 11 Russia; travel with me to my place of deportation after my release as a POW; and journey with me in a borrowing escape from Hungary and the clutches of the feared AVO. more...

  • Until Our Last Breathby Michael Bart; Laurel Corona

    St. Martin's Press 2008; US$ 6.79

    At Leizer Bart's funeral, one of the mourners told his son Michael that the gravestone should include a reference to the Freedom Fighters of Nekamah, to honor his late father's involvement in the Jewish resistance movement in Vilna (now Vilnius), Lithuania, at the end of World War II. Michael had never heard his parents referenced as Freedom Fighters.... more...

  • Slaughterhouseby David Rieff

    Touchstone 2013; US$ 18.95

    In a shocking and deeply disturbing tour de force, David Rieff, reporting from the Bosnia war zone and from Western capitals and United Nations headquarters, indicts the West and the United Nations for standing by and doing nothing to stop the genocide of the Bosnian Muslims. Slaughterhouse is the definitive explanation of a war that will be remembered... more...

  • Daily Life behind the Iron Curtainby William Willis

    ABC-CLIO 2013; US$ 58.00

    Part of Greenwood's Daily Life through History series, Daily Life behind the Iron Curtain enables today's generations to understand what it was like for those living in Eastern Europe during the Cold War, particularly the period from 1961 to 1989, the era during which these people—East Germans in particular—lived in the imposing shadow of the... more...

  • Remembering the Darknessby Veronica Shapovalov

    Rowman & Littlefield Publishers 2001; US$ 46.00

    This engrossing collection of prison memoirs by Russian women is the first to portray the direct experiences of the wide range of women who were incarcerated in Soviet prisons and camps. Comprising the stories of women from all classes and backgrounds, this book covers the entire span of the Gulag's existence from the 1920s to the 1980s, including... more...

  • Imperiumby Ryszard Kapuscinski

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2013; US$ 17.00

    Ryszard Kapuscinski's last book, The Soccer War -a revelation of the contemporary experience of war -- prompted John le Carre to call the author "the conjurer extraordinary of modern reportage." Now, in Imperium, Kapuscinski gives us a work of equal emotional force and evocative power: a personal, brilliantly detailed exploration of the almost unfathomably... more...