The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Short Stories

Most popular at the top

  • Something Short and Sweetby H.E. Bates

    Bloomsbury Publishing 2016; US$ 0.99

    Something Short and Sweet , H. E. Bates's sixth collection first published in 1937, demonstrates his mastery of character and form. Richard Church, writing in John O'London's Weekly, stated that this collection confirmed his belief that Bates "is an immortal...Here is a creative artist whose technique in the art of the short story is comparable... more...

  • Valentine's Day at the Star and Sixpence (short story)by Holly Hepburn

    Simon & Schuster UK 2016; US$ 0.00

    Fall in love at the Star and Sixpence this Valentine's Day....   Love is in the air as sisters Nessie and Sam prepare for Valentine's Day at their newly renovated pub, The Star and Sixpence. They have a star chef winging her way from London to cook a very special Valentine's Day dinner, for all the couples in the village.    But as sparks fly in... more...

  • The Abbot's Ghostby Louisa May Alcott

    The Floating Press 2012; US$ 3.99

    Settle in for a cozy holiday-themed read from the author of beloved classics like Little Women. In The Abbot's Ghost, Louisa May Alcott builds on the traditional elements of a Victorian ghost story, pitting a group of well-drawn characters against one another in a thrilling mystery plot. A perfect diversion at Christmas or any time of the year. more...

  • Across the Yearsby Eleanor H. Porter

    The Floating Press 2012; US$ 3.99

    Surprise a young reader in your life with this collection of charming and insightful short stories from the pen of author Eleanor H. Porter, best known for the widely acclaimed novel Pollyanna. Touching on an array of engaging subjects and timeless themes, these stories showcase Porter's gift for crafting memorable characters that often find themselves... more...

  • After Darkby Wilkie Collins

    The Floating Press 2011; US$ 3.99

    Curl up with After Dark, the first collection of early detective fiction master Wilkie Collins' short stories. Including a diverse array of mysteries, tales of murder, and family drama in wartime and other chaotic settings, this engrossing collection is sure to have something that appeals to every reader. more...

  • Albert Savarusby Honore de Balzac; Ellen Marriage

    The Floating Press 2014; US$ 2.99

    An extract from Honore de Balzac's vast story cycle The Human Comedy, the novel Albert Savarus details the dramatic twists and turns in a budding love affair between Albert, a young lawyer with literary ambitions, and a beautiful but conniving young woman named Rosalie. Though the story unfolds in a manner not unlike a typical romance, the surprise... more...

  • The Assimilated Cuban's Guide to Quantum Santeriaby Carlos Hernandez

    Rosarium Publishing 2016; US$ 4.99

    A quirky collection of short sci-fi stories for fans of Kij Johnson and Kelly Link   Assimilation is founded on surrender and being broken; this collection of short stories features people who have assimilated, but are actively trying to reclaim their lives. There is a concert pianist who defies death by uploading his soul into his piano. There... more...

  • At the Sign of the Cat and Racketby Honore de Balzac; Clara Bell

    The Floating Press 2014; US$ 1.99

    This novel is part of the Scenes of Private Life section of Honore de Balzac's sweeping saga The Human Comedy. Renowned artist Theodore de Sommervieux falls head-over-heels in love with the beautiful, refined Augustine Guillaume, and soon the besotted pair are married. But after a blissful honeymoon period, the couple discovers that sometimes love... more...

  • The Atheist's Massby Honore de Balzac; Clara Bell

    The Floating Press 2014; US$ 1.99

    "The Atheist's Mass" is a short story from the "Scenes From Private Life" section of Honore de Balzac's story cycle The Human Comedy. One day, the narrator happens to see one of his acquaintances, a prominent doctor, attending mass. Since he knows that Dr. Desplein is an avowed atheist, the narrator's curiosity is piqued.... more...

  • The Ball at Sceauxby Honore de Balzac; Clara Bell

    The Floating Press 2014; US$ 1.99

    One of the earliest pieces Balzac penned for his sweeping story cycle The Human Comedy, this novella is found in the Scenes of Private Life section of the series. Social climber Emilie de Fontaine is a petulant brat who is determined to marry for status. One night at an opulent party, she falls in love at first sight with the dashing, aristocratic... more...