The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, Sony Reader...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
History and criticism

  • Things Can Only Get Fetaby Marjory McGinn

    Bene Factum Publishing 2014; US$ 9.99

    Two journalists embarking on a year's adventure in Greece just as the country faces economic collapse seems foolhardy?but it's their decision to bring their crazy Jack Russell to a crisis-weary country with zero dog tolerance that tips the plan into actual madness After an Arctic winter, a recession, and a downturn in the newspaper industry, two... more...

  • Ahmed the Philosopherby Alain Badiou; Joseph Litvak

    Columbia University Press 2014; US$ 23.99

    English-speaking readers might be surprised to learn that Alain Badiou writes fiction and plays along with his philosophical works and that they are just as important to understanding his larger intellectual project. In Ahmed the Philosopher, Badiou?s most entertaining and accessible play, translated into English here for the first time, readers are... more...

  • Laughing Cultby Kevin McCaffrey

    Four Winds Press 2014; US$ 9.95

    Inspired by the spirit and approach of Bertolt Brecht's Manual of Piety , the poems of Laughing Cult often employ the structures of ballads, folksongs, and other traditional forms to create miniature sketches marked by romantic ambiguity, occultism, science fiction, and quirky angst. As cool in tone as a Lee Konitz solo and as lacking in affect... more...

  • All You Ask For is Longingby Sean Thomas Dougherty

    BOA Editions Ltd. 2014; US$ 9.99

    A true iconoclastic poet born, living and surviving in the underground, this is the best of Dougherty's ten collections. more...

  • Sidewalksby Valeria Luiselli; Christina MacSweeney; Cees Nooteboom

    Coffee House Press 2014; US$ 12.99

    Cosmopolitan, vivacious essays in the tradition of Brodsky's Watermark and Benjamin's The Arcades Project by a celebrated young Mexican author. more...

  • Machaut and the Medieval Apprenticeship Traditionby Douglas Kelly

    Boydell & Brewer 2014; US$ 99.00

    A close examination of an important theme in Machaut's works. more...

  • "Großreinemachen im Osten"by Michaela Kipp

    Campus Verlag 2014; US$ 46.03

    Warum beteiligten sich normale deutsche Männer an Kriegsverbrechen gegen die Bevölkerung der osteuropäischen Länder? Einblick in die Beweggründe der Wehrmachtsangehörigen bieten Briefe, die sie aus dem Krieg nach Hause schrieben. Gestützt auf eine qualitative Auswertung von ca. 7000 Feldpostbriefen untersucht Michaela Kipp das Denken der Protagonisten... more...

  • The Politics of Race in Panamaby Sonja Stephenson Watson

    University Press of Florida 2014; US$ 74.95

    Sonja Watson examines the writing of black Panamanian authors to reveal how race is defined, contested, and inscribed in Panama. She tells the story of two competing cultures: Afro-Hispanics whose ancestors came as slaves during the colonial period and West Indians whose families arrived more recently from English-speaking Caribbean countries to build... more...

  • Decolonizing Translationby Kathryn Batchelor

    Taylor and Francis 2014; US$ 48.95

    The linguistically innovative aspect of Francophone African literature has been recognized and studied from a variety of angles over recent decades, yet little attention has been paid to what happens to such literature when it is translated into another language. Taking as its corpus all sub-Saharan Francophone African texts that have ever been published... more...

  • Antonin Artaudby Edward Scheer

    Taylor and Francis 2014; US$ 41.95

    This resource collects for the first time some of the best criticism on Artaud's life and work from writers such as Jacques Derrida, Julia Kristeva, Maurice Blanchot, Herbert Blau, Leo Bersani and Susan Sontag. Antonin Artaud was one of the most brilliant artists of the twentieth century. His writing influenced entire generations, from the French... more...