The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, Sony Reader...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
History and criticism

  • Sidewalksby Valeria Luiselli; Christina MacSweeney; Cees Nooteboom

    Coffee House Press 2014; US$ 12.99

    Cosmopolitan, vivacious essays in the tradition of Brodsky's Watermark and Benjamin's The Arcades Project by a celebrated young Mexican author. more...

  • Machaut and the Medieval Apprenticeship Traditionby Douglas Kelly

    Boydell & Brewer 2014; US$ 99.00

    A close examination of an important theme in Machaut's works. more...

  • "Großreinemachen im Osten"by Michaela Kipp

    Campus Verlag 2014; US$ 46.28

    Warum beteiligten sich normale deutsche Männer an Kriegsverbrechen gegen die Bevölkerung der osteuropäischen Länder? Einblick in die Beweggründe der Wehrmachtsangehörigen bieten Briefe, die sie aus dem Krieg nach Hause schrieben. Gestützt auf eine qualitative Auswertung von ca. 7000 Feldpostbriefen untersucht Michaela Kipp das Denken der Protagonisten... more...

  • The Politics of Race in Panamaby Sonja Stephenson Watson

    University Press of Florida 2014; US$ 74.95

    Sonja Watson examines the writing of black Panamanian authors to reveal how race is defined, contested, and inscribed in Panama. She tells the story of two competing cultures: Afro-Hispanics whose ancestors came as slaves during the colonial period and West Indians whose families arrived more recently from English-speaking Caribbean countries to build... more...

  • Antonin Artaudby Edward Scheer

    Taylor and Francis 2014; US$ 41.95

    This resource collects for the first time some of the best criticism on Artaud's life and work from writers such as Jacques Derrida, Julia Kristeva, Maurice Blanchot, Herbert Blau, Leo Bersani and Susan Sontag. Antonin Artaud was one of the most brilliant artists of the twentieth century. His writing influenced entire generations, from the French... more...

  • Erzählen und Gesang im flavischen Eposby Anke Walter

    De Gruyter 2014; US$ 154.00

    The three Flavian poets, Valerius Flaccus, Statius, and Silius Italicus, held different views on the form and function of epic storytelling. This study shows which personae perform the role of storyteller in their works and how these interact with the narrated world and are mirrored by the singers and prophetic characters in the narrative. more...

  • Renaissance Truthsby Alan R. Perreiah

    Ashgate Publishing Ltd 2014; US$ 109.95

    For humanists the perfect language was a revived Classical Latin. For scholastics it was a practical logic adapted to the needs of education. Though they have long been portrayed as arch rivals, Alan Perreiah here argues that humanists and scholastics were working in complementary ways toward some of the same goals: most significantly, the early modern... more...

  • Poetry and Identity in Quattrocento Naplesby Matteo Soranzo

    Ashgate Publishing Ltd 2014; US$ 109.95

    Using five case studies set in fifteenth-century Naples, Poetry and Identity in Quattrocento Naples investigates how early modern poets used poetry to negotiate their cultural identity in a field of options and possibilities. Presented in chronological order, the analyses focus on the reciprocal relations among Giovanni Pontano, Jacopo Sannazaro, and... more...

  • Dream Nationby María Acosta Cruz

    Rutgers University Press 2014; US$ 25.95

    In this provocative new book, Maria Acosta Cruz investigates why the rhetoric of independence is so pivotal to Puerto Rican culture, despite the fact that the island?s voters have consistently rejected calls for national sovereignty. Weaving together texts from literature, history, and popular culture, Dream Nation shows how this seemingly revolutionary... more...

  • Luigi Pirandello in the Theatreby Susan Bassnett; Jennifer Lorch

    Taylor and Francis 2014; US$ 48.95

    First Published in 1993. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company. more...