The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Arctic and Antarctic regions

Most popular at the top

  • Geographic Information Science at the Heart of Europeby

    Springer International Publishing 2013; US$ 179.00

    This volume collects the 23 best full papers presented during the 16th AGILE Conference on Geographic Information Science, held May 2013 in Leuven, Belgium. It especially focuses on GI applications in the European policy context. more...

  • Race to the Top of the World: Richard Byrd and the First Flight to the North Poleby Sheldon Bart

    Regnery Publishing 2013; US$ 29.95

    In the age of adventure, when dirigibles coasted through the air and vast swaths of the Earth remained untouched and unseen by man, one pack of relentless explorers competed in the race of a lifetime: to be the first aviator to fly over the North Pole. What inspired their dangerous fascination? For some, it was the romantic theory about a “lost world,?... more...

  • Farthest Northby Fridtjof Nansen

    Skyhorse Publishing 2008; US$ 17.95

    "If Outside magazine had been around during the first turn of the century, Fridtjof Nansen would have been its No. 1 cover boy."—The Chicago Sun-Times In September of 1893, Norwegian zoologist Fridtjof Nansen and crew manned the schooner Fram, intending to drift, frozen in the Arctic pack-ice, to the North Pole. When it became clear that they... more...

  • Geographical Information Retrieval in Textual Corporaby Christian Sallaberry

    Wiley 2013; US$ 73.00

    This book addresses the field of geographic information extraction and retrieval from textual documents. Geographic information retrieval is a rapidly emerging subject, a trend fostered by the growing power of the Internet and the emerging possibilities of data dissemination. After positioning his work in this field in Chapter 1, the author makes... more...

  • Last Explorerby Simon Nasht

    Skyhorse Publishing 2011; US$ 14.95

    In the tradition of The Ice Master and Endurance , here is the incredible story of the first truly modern explorer, whose death-defying adventures and uncommon modesty make this book itself an extraordinary discovery. Hubert Wilkins was the most successful explorer in history?no one saw with his own eyes more undiscovered land and sea. Largely self-taught,... more...

  • Philosophy and Geography IIby Andrew Light; Jonathan M. Smith; Edward S. Casey; Ian Chaston; Edward Dimendberg; Matthew Gorton; John Gulick; Jean Hillier; Ted Kilian; Hugh Mason; Mario Pascalev; Neil Smith; John Stevenson; Mary Ann Tétreault; Luke Wallin; John White

    Rowman & Littlefield Publishers 1997; US$ 45.99

    Philosophers and geographers have converged on the topic of public space, fascinated and in many ways alarmed by fundamental changes in the way post-industrial societies produce space for public use, and in the way citizens of these same societies perceive and constitute themselves as a public. This volume advances this inquiry, making extensive use... more...

  • A Short History of Polar Explorationby Nick Rennison

    Oldcastle Books 2013; US$ 10.19

    According to Apsley Cherry-Garrard, one of the men who went to Antarctica with Captain Scott, ‘Polar exploration is at once the cleanest and most isolated way of having a bad time that has ever been devised. ? Despite this there has never been a shortage of volunteers willing to endure the bad times in pursuit of the glory that polar exploration sometimes... more...

  • On Soul and Earthby Elena Liotta

    Taylor and Francis 2013; US$ 47.95

    On Soul and Earth offers an original perspective on the relationship between the environment and the human psyche. Physical spaces contribute to the building of identity through personal experience and memory. Places evoke emotions and carry their own special meanings. Elena Liotta and her contributors also explore the neglected topics of migration... more...

  • Geography in the Primary School (Routledge Revivals)by John Bale

    Taylor and Francis 2013; US$ 125.00

    First published in 1987, this title provides primary school teachers with ideas by which geographical skills and ideas can be introduced in the primary school. John Bale shows how teachers can build on children?s ?private geographies? with practical learning strategies, examining approaches to the teaching of map skills, the ways in which the locality... more...

  • A Short History of Polar Explorationby Nick Rennison

    Oldcastle Books 2014; US$ 9.99

    An absorbing history, bringing explorers' tales vividly to life   Apsley Cherry-Garrard, one of the men who went to Antarctica with Captain Scott, said "Polar exploration is at once the cleanest and most isolated way of having a bad time that has ever been devised." Yet there has never been a shortage of volunteers willing to endure the bad times... more...