The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,725,826 members ⚫ 1,209,635 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Ancient

Most popular at the top

  • The Riddle of the Labyrinthby Margalit Fox

    HarperCollins 2013; US$ 12.74

    In the tradition of Simon Winchester and Dava Sobel, The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code tells one of the most intriguing stories in the history of language, masterfully blending history, linguistics, and cryptology with an elegantly wrought narrative.   When famed archaeologist Arthur Evans unearthed the ruins of a sophisticated... more...

  • Slave Girlby Lisa Cach

    Pocket Star 2014; US$ 2.99

    A sex slave who?s never been touched? National bestselling author Lisa Cach spins an erotic, passionate novel about a young Roman Empire slave who?s intended to become her king?s concubine?until a rugged barbarian prince takes her heart?and more. Lovely Nimia is a slave to King Sygarius, who?s grooming her to be his consort as soon as she reaches... more...

  • Historiesby Herodotus; Pamela Mensch; James Romm

    Hackett Publishing Company, Inc. 2014; US$ 13.95

    This volume includes a wealth of helpful footnotes; more than a dozen maps and illustrations; a chronology of the Archaic Age; a glossary of main characters, places, and terms; suggested further reading; and an index of proper nouns. more...

  • On the War for Greek Freedomby Herodotus; Samuel Shirley; James Romm

    Hackett Publishing Company, Inc. 2003; US$ 10.50

    Designed for students with little or no background in ancient Greek language, history, and culture, this new abridgment presents those selections that comprise Herodotus? historical narrative. These are meticulously annotated, and supplemented with a chronology of the Archaic Age, Historical Epilogue, glossary of main characters and places, index... more...

  • Ancient Greeceby Paul Cartledge

    OUP Oxford 2009; US$ 7.99 US$ 7.19

    A highly stimulating introduction to the history of Ancient Greek civilization, from the first documented use of the Greek language in about 1400 BCE, through the glories of the Classical and Hellenistic periods, to the foundation of the Byzantine empire in about CE 330. more...

  • Byzantium in the Seventh Centuryby J. F. Haldon

    Cambridge University Press 1997; US$ 50.00

    An analytical account of developments within Byzantine culture, society and the state from c. 610 to 717. more...

  • Martyrdom and Romeby G. W. Bowersock

    Cambridge University Press 1995; US$ 37.00

    A concise examination of the historical context of the earliest Christian martyrs in the Roman empire. more...

  • Theatre of the Rule of Lawby Stephen Humphreys

    Cambridge University Press 2010; US$ 41.00

    This book presents a sustained critique of 'rule of law promotion', revealing the myths and contradictions that pervade the field. more...

  • The Oxford History of Byzantiumby Cyril Mango

    Oxford University Press 2002; US$ 44.99 US$ 40.49

    The Oxford History of Byzantium is the only history to provide in concise form detailed coverage of Byzantium from its Roman beginnings to the fall of Constantinople and assimilation into the Turkish Empire. Lively essays and beautiful illustrations portray the emergence and development of a distinctive civilization, covering the period from the fourth... more...

  • The Gallic Warby Julius Caesar; Carolyn Hammond

    OUP Oxford 1998; US$ 5.99 US$ 5.39

    The Gallic War, published on the eve of the civil war which led to the end of the Roman Republic, is an autobiographical account written by one of the most famous figures of European history. This new translation reflects the purity of Caesar's Latin while preserving the pace and flow of his momentous narrative. As well as an introduction and notes,... more...