The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,720,765 members ⚫ 1,207,593 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Exploration & Discovery

Most popular at the top

  • The Riddle of the Labyrinthby Margalit Fox

    HarperCollins 2013; US$ 12.74

    In the tradition of Simon Winchester and Dava Sobel, The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code tells one of the most intriguing stories in the history of language, masterfully blending history, linguistics, and cryptology with an elegantly wrought narrative.   When famed archaeologist Arthur Evans unearthed the ruins of a sophisticated... more...

  • Mountaineering Holidayby Frank Smythe

    Vertebrate Publishing 2014; US$ 7.99

    There is no holiday like a mountaineering holiday. For eleven months the mountaineer has sighed for the mountain wind on his cheek, for the lilt of the mountain stream, for the feel of rock in his hand, for the crunch of frozen snow beneath his feet, for the smell of mist and the fragrance of alp and pine forest. 'In his spare moments he has read about... more...

  • The Invisible Hookby Peter T. Leeson

    Princeton University Press 2009; US$ 16.95 US$ 14.58

    Pack your cutlass and blunderbuss--it's time to go a-pirating! The Invisible Hook takes readers inside the wily world of late seventeenth- and early eighteenth-century pirates. With swashbuckling irreverence and devilish wit, Peter Leeson uncovers the hidden economics behind pirates' notorious, entertaining, and sometimes downright shocking behavior.... more...

  • Ships, Clocks, and Starsby Richard Dunn; Rebekah Higgitt

    HarperCollins 2014; US$ 34.99

    A tale of eighteenth-century invention and competition, commerce and conflict, this is a lively, illustrated, and accurate chronicle of the search to solve ?the longitude problem,? the question of how to determine a ship?s position at sea?and one that changed the history of mankind. Ships, Clocks, and Stars brings into focus one of our greatest... more...

  • Three Miles Downby James Hamilton-Paterson

    Faber & Faber 2014; US$ 18.95

    James Hamilton-Paterson describes Three Miles Down (first published in 1998) as 'the account of a treasure hunt in 1995 which I joined as the expedition's chronicler. A group of Britons had chartered the Russian oceanographic ship, the Mstislav Keldysh, to look for the wrecks of two vessels sunk in the Atlantic in the Second World War... Both were... more...

  • Voices from the Titanicby Geoff Tibballs

    Little, Brown Book Group 2012; US$ 7.99

    The graphic, first-hand story of the first voyage and disastrous sinking of RMS Titanic - told by the survivors themselves. The story of the sinking of the great liner, Titanic, has been told countless times since that fateful night on 14th April 1912 by historians, novelists and film producers alike, but no account is as graphic or revealing as... more...

  • Coconut Chaosby Diana Souhami

    Quercus 2012; US$ 12.99

    At dawn on 27 April 1789 Fletcher Christian, master's mate on HMS Bounty, took a coconut to quench his thirst from the supply on the quarterdeck. This seemingly insignificant act resulted in mutiny, chaos and a chain of events that leads right up to the present day. With a story driven by hazardous and extraordinary sea voyages and a cast that includes... more...

  • Baudin, Napoleon and the Exploration of Australiaby Nicole Starbuck

    Taylor and Francis 2015; US$ 52.95

    This is the first in-depth study of the sojourn in Sydney made by Nicolas Baudin?s scientific expedition to Australia in 1802. Starbuck focuses on the reconstruction of the voyage during the expedition?s stay in colonial Sydney and how this sheds new light on our understanding of French society, politics and science in the era of Bonaparte. more...

  • Race and Identity in the Tasman World, 1769?1840by Rachel Standfield

    Taylor and Francis 2015; US$ 52.95

    British imperial encounters with indigenous cultures created perceptions and stereotypes that still persist today. The initial creation of racial images in relation to violence had particular consequences for land ownership. Standfield examines these differences and how they occurred. more...

  • Treasures of the Spanish Mainby John Christopher Fine

    Lyons Press 2006; US$ 28.99

    A fascinating account of shipwrecks and the harrowing attempts to recover their sunken treasure. more...