The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Exploration & Discovery

Most popular at the top

  • Ships, Clocks, and Starsby Richard Dunn; Rebekah Higgitt

    HarperCollins 2014; US$ 75.00

    A tale of eighteenth-century invention and competition, commerce and conflict, this is a lively, illustrated, and accurate chronicle of the search to solve ?the longitude problem,? the question of how to determine a ship?s position at sea?and one that changed the history of mankind. Ships, Clocks, and Stars brings into focus one of our greatest... more...

  • Astoriaby Peter Stark

    HarperCollins 2014; US$ 12.99

    In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeleton in the Zahara , Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast. Peter Stark offers a harrowing saga in which a band of explorers battled nature, starvation, and madness to... more...

  • 1493by Charles C. Mann

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2011; US$ 16.95

    From the author of 1491? the best-selling study of the pre-Columbian Americas?a deeply engaging new history of the most momentous biological event since the death of the dinosaurs. More than 200 million years ago, geological forces split apart the continents. Isolated from each other, the two halves of the world developed radically different suites... more...

  • Chronicle of the Narvaez Expeditionby Alvar Nunez Cabeza de Vaca; Fanny Bandelier; Harold Augenbraun; Ilan Stavans

    Penguin Publishing Group 2002; US$ 14.00

    This riveting true story is the first major narrative detailing the exploration of North America by Spanish conquistadors (1528-1536). The author, Alvar Núñez Cabeza de Vaca , was a fortune-seeking Spanish nobleman and the treasurer of an expedition sent to claim for Spain a vast area of today's southern United States. In simple, straightforward... more...

  • A Land So Strangeby Andre Resendez

    Basic Books 2007; US$ 16.99

    more...

  • Treasure Huntby Peter Earle

    St. Martin's Press 2008; US$ 8.99

    ?A remarkable book, in which a very wide spectrum of human behavior is on show---from colossal gullibility on the one hand, to extraordinary ingenuity and determination on the other.? ? The Daily Telegraph (UK)           Treasure Hunt is the story of an obsession. Rumors of Spanish treasure, or gold and silver at the bottom of the sea, have been... more...

  • Gunpowder, Treason and Plotby Lettice Cooper

    Bloomsbury Publishing 2012; US$ 7.99

    On the fifth of November every year, children all over England delightedly light bonfires, swish sparklers and gobble toffee apples in celebration of Bonfire Night, and the death of Guy Fawkes. But what really happened on the night of the Fifth of November, 1605, when the plot to blow up King and Parliament was discovered? And what led up to so... more...

  • The Explorersby Martin Dugard

    Doubleday Canada 2014; US$ 32.00

    The story of Sir Richard Francis Burton and John Hanning Speke--their friendship, bitter rivalry, and the two thousand year search for the source of the Nile--is almost too good to be true.      Imagine a story in which two daring adventurers set off to solve the greatest and oldest of geographical mysteries: the source of the Nile. Their journey... more...

  • Ships, Clocks, and Starsby Richard Dunn; Rebekah Higgitt

    HarperCollins 2014; Not Available

    A tale of eighteenth-century invention and competition, commerce and conflict, this is a lively, illustrated, and accurate chronicle of the search to solve ?the longitude problem,? the question of how to determine a ship?s position at sea?and one that changed the history of mankind. Ships, Clocks, and Stars brings into focus one of our greatest... more...

  • Three Miles Downby James Hamilton-Paterson

    Faber & Faber 2014; US$ 18.94

    James Hamilton-Paterson describes Three Miles Down (first published in 1998) as 'the account of a treasure hunt in 1995 which I joined as the expedition's chronicler. A group of Britons had chartered the Russian oceanographic ship, the Mstislav Keldysh, to look for the wrecks of two vessels sunk in the Atlantic in the Second World War... Both were... more...