The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, Sony Reader...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Exploration & Discovery

  • Five Letters 1519-1526by Hernando Cortés

    Taylor and Francis 2014; US$ 230.00

    First published in 1928. 'These letters, well edited tell of a great conqueror, fighting for God and his king, and reveal the might proportions of the truly Elizabethan character that was Hernando Cortés.' Times Literary Supplement. Cortés's letters to the Emperor from Mexico are half-letters, half-despatches. The letters were all written between... more...

  • You Are Hereby Hiawatha Bray

    Basic Books 2014; US$ 27.99

    The story of the rise of modern navigation technology, from radio location to GPS—and the consequent decline of privacy What does it mean to never get lost? You Are Here examines the rise of our technologically aided era of navigational omniscience—or how we came to know exactly where we are at all times. In a sweeping history of the development... more...

  • Sea of Glory: The Epic South Seas Expedition 1838?42by Nathaniel Philbrick

    HarperCollins Publishers 2014; Not Available

    This ebook contains a limited number of illustrations. Due to the level of detail, maps are best viewed on a tablet. The dramatic story of the largest voyage of discovery in the history of the world, this is a astounding tale of courage, arrogance and adventure on the high seas. more...

  • Sea of Glory: The Epic South Seas Expedition 1838?42by Nathaniel Philbrick

    HarperCollins Publishers 2014; Not Available

    This ebook contains a limited number of illustrations. Due to the level of detail, maps are best viewed on a tablet. The dramatic story of the largest voyage of discovery in the history of the world, this is a astounding tale of courage, arrogance and adventure on the high seas. more...

  • Science, Voyages, and Encounters in Oceania, 1511-1850by Bronwen Douglas

    Palgrave Macmillan 2014; US$ 110.00

    Blending global scope with local depth, this book throws new light on important themes. Spanning four centuries and vast space, it combines the history of ideas with particular histories of encounters between European voyagers and Indigenous people in Oceania (Island Southeast Asia, New Guinea, Australia, New Zealand, and the Pacific Islands). more...

  • The Ark Before Noahby Irving Finkel

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2014; US$ 30.00

    The recent translation of a Babylonian tablet launches a groundbreaking investigation into one of the most famous stories in the world, challenging the way we look at ancient history.   Since the Victorian period, it has been understood that the story of Noah, iconic in the Book of Genesis, and a central motif in Judaism, Christianity and Islam,... more...

  • Mrs Guppy Takes A Flightby Molly Whittington-Egan

    Neil Wilson Publishing 2014; US$ 14.57

    Many moons ago, in the high Victorian era, Mrs. Guppy, the famous medium, was enjoying a sparkling success. Over the rooftops of Bloomsbury she sailed, was infused through lathe and plaster, and clambered on to tables in the darkness, magicking down showers of apports. Night after night, once the lights were extinguished, and the damped fires had... more...

  • A History of Astronomy (Routledge Revivals)by Walter W. Bryant

    Taylor and Francis 2014; US$ 51.95

    A History of Astronomy , first published in 1907, offers a comprehensive introduction to the steady development of the science since its inception in the ancient world up to the momentous progress of the nineteenth century. It includes biographical material relating to the most famous names in the study of astronomy ? Copernicus, Galileo, Newton,... more...

  • Astoriaby Peter Stark

    HarperCollins 2014; US$ 14.99

    In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeleton in the Zahara , Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast. Peter Stark offers a harrowing saga in which a band of explorers battled nature, starvation, and madness to... more...

  • Sextant: A Voyage Guided by the Stars and the Men Who Mapped the World?s Oceansby David Barrie

    HarperCollins Publishers 2014; Not Available

    With 2014 marking the tercentenary of the Longitude Act, this eloquent celebration of the sextant tells the story of this elegant instrument and explores its vital role in man?s attempts to map the world. more...