The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,907,956 members ⚫ 1,273,926 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Far East

Most popular at the top

  • The Zookeeper's Wifeby Diane Ackerman

    Headline 2013; US$ 12.99

    In war-torn Warsaw, a zookeeper and his wife refuse to surrender... Now a major motion picture starring Jessica Chastain and Daniel Brühl, Diane Ackerman's The Zookeeper's Wife is based on a remarkable true story of bravery and sanctuary during World War II. Perfect for fans of Lion and Hidden Figures. 'I can't imagine a better... more...

  • Dispatchesby Michael Herr

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2011; US$ 15.95

    "The best book to have been written about the Vietnam War" ( The New York Times Book Review ); an instant classic straight from  the front lines. From its terrifying opening pages to its final eloquent words,  Dispatches  makes us see, in unforgettable and unflinching detail, the chaos and fervor of the war and the surreal insanity of life in that... more...

  • Planet Indiaby Mira Kamdar

    Scribner 2007; US$ 21.99

    India is everywhere: on magazine covers and cinema marquees, at the gym and in the kitchen, in corporate boardrooms and on Capitol Hill. Through incisive reportage and illuminating analysis, Mira Kamdar explores India's astonishing transformation from a developing country into a global powerhouse. She takes us inside India, reporting on the people,... more...

  • The Korean Warby Cameron Forbes

    Pan Macmillan Australia 2010; US$ 1.81

    The Korean War was a 20th Century conflict that has never ended. South Korea, a powerhouse economy and dynamic democracy sits uneasily alongside North Korea, the world's most secretive, belligerent, unpredictable and repressive totalitarian state. Today, tensions simmer and occasionally flare into outright violence on a peninsula dense with arms,... more...

  • Dam Bustersby James Holland

    Transworld 2012; US$ 14.09

    The night of May 16th, 1943. Nineteen specially adapted Lancaster bombers take off from RAF Scampton in Lincolnshire, each with a huge 9,000lb cylindrical bomb strapped underneath it. Their mission: to destroy three dams deep within the German heartland, which provide the lifeblood to the industries supplying the Third Reich's war machine. From the... more...

  • Death in the Balticby Cathryn J. Prince

    St. Martin's Press 2013; US$ 6.79

    The worst maritime disaster ever occurred during World War II, when more than 9,000 German civilians drowned. It went unreported. January 1945: The outcome of World War II has been determined. The Third Reich is in free fall as the Russians close in from the east. Berlin plans an eleventh-hour exodus for the German civilians trapped in the Red Army's... more...

  • The Oxford Handbook of the History of Nationalismby John Breuilly

    OUP Oxford 2013; US$ 49.99

    Thirty-six essays by a team of leading scholars providing a global coverage of the history of nationalism in its different aspects - its ideas, its sentiments, and its politics. more...

  • The Idea of Galiciaby Larry Wolff

    Stanford University Press 2012; US$ 27.95

    The Idea of Galicia analyzes the intellectual and cultural history of a place as an idea: how Galicia, invented in the late eighteenth century as a geopolitical artifice, gradually acquired complex meaning over the course of its historical existence (and even beyond) for the peoples— Poles, Ukrainians, and Jews— who lived there and for the political... more...

  • Stateless in Shanghaiby Liliane Willens

    Earnshaw Books 2010; US$ 9.99

    With vivid firsthand descriptions of Asia’s most cosmopolitan city from the 1920s to the 1950s, this recollection chronicles Liliane Willens' life and trials in Shanghai as China collapsed under the weight of foreign invaders and civil war. Engaging and often humorous, this unique memoir relates Willens' experiences as a Jewish Russian living in early... more...

  • The Civil War Volume Iby Shelby Foote

    Random House 2011; US$ 23.96

    A narrative history of the American Civil War, which covers not only the battles and the troop movements but also the social background that brought on the war and led, in the end, to the South's defeat. more...