The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,972,089 members ⚫ 1,310,169 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Russia (Pre- & Post-Soviet Union)

  • The Resurgence of Central Asiaby Ahmed Rashid; Ahmed Rashid

    New York Review Books 2017; US$ 13.99

    A seminal introduction to the rise of Central Asia following the collapse of Tsarist Russia, this book has been out of print for two decades and is now more relevent than ever. The Resurgence of Central Asia is Ahmed Rashid’s seminal study of the states that emerged in the aftermath of the breakup of the Soviet Union: Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan,... more...

  • Writing History in the Soviet Unionby Arup Banerji

    Taylor and Francis 2017; US$ 54.95

    The history of the Soviet Union has been charted in several studies over the decades. These depictions while combining accuracy, elegance, readability and imaginativeness, have failed to draw attention to the political and academic environment within which these histories were composed. Writing History in the Soviet Union: Making the Past Work is... more...

  • Sociology in Russiaby Larissa Titarenko; Elena Zdravomyslova

    Springer International Publishing 2017; US$ 50.55

    This book represents the first comprehensive historical treatment of sociology in Russia from the mid-nineteenth century through the pre-revolutionary and Soviet eras to the present day. It sheds new light on the dramatic history of sociology in the Russian context; dramatic both in its relationship with state power, and in the large-scale societal... more...

  • The Russo-Japanese War and its Shaping of the Twentieth Centuryby Frank Jacob

    Taylor and Francis 2017; US$ 54.95

    The Russo-Japanese War was in essence a colonial conflict between the expanding interests of Russia and Japan in East Asia. However, while appearing regional, the war itself in fact had a major global impact. The conflict and Japanese victory stimulated the Russian revolutionary movement in 1905 and hence the Russian Revolution of 1917. In addition,... more...

  • Tactics and Procurement in the Habsburg Military, 1866-1918by John A. Dredger

    Springer International Publishing 2017; US$ 102.28

    This book reveals the primary causes of Habsburg defeat both in the Austro-Prussian War and the First World War. The choice of offensive strategy and tactics against an enemy possessing superior weaponry in the Austro-Prussian War, and opponents with superior numbers and weapons in the Great War, resulted in catastrophe. The inferiority of the Habsburg... more...

  • Sociology in the Czech Republicby Marek Skovajsa; Jan Balon

    Palgrave Macmillan UK 2017; US$ 50.55

    This book offers the first comprehensive overview in English of the history of sociology in what is today the Czech Republic. Divided into six chapters, it traces the institutional development of the discipline from the late 19th century until the present, with an emphasis on the periods most favorable for sociology’s institutionalization: the interwar... more...

  • The House of Governmentby Yuri Slezkine

    Princeton University Press 2017; US$ 39.95 US$ 36.35

    On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace , Grossman’s Life and... more...

  • Bombing the Marshall Islandsby Keith M. Parsons; Robert A. Zaballa

    Cambridge University Press 2017; US$ 24.00

    A narrative history of the nuclear tests conducted by the United States in the Marshall Islands from 1946 to 1958. more...

  • Russia's Dead Endby Andrei A. Kovalev; Steven I. Levine; Peter Reddaway

    Potomac Books 2017; US$ 34.95

    Elite-level Soviet politics, privileged access to state secrets, knowledge about machinations inside the Kremlin—such is the environment in which Andrei A. Kovalev lived and worked. In this memoir of his time as a successful diplomat serving in various key capacities and as a member of Mikhail Gorbachev’s staff, Kovalev reveals hard truths about... more...

  • Russia and Its Islamic Worldby Robert Service

    Hoover Institution Press 2017; US$ 4.99

    Russia has long played an influential part in its world of Islam, and not all the dimensions are as widely understood as they ought to be. In Russia and Its Islamic World, Robert Service examines Russia's interactions with Islam at home and around the globe and pinpoints the tsarist and Soviet legacy, current complications, and future possibilities.... more...