The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, Sony Reader...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Essays

  • In Praise of Nothingby Eric LeMay

    Emergency Press 2014; US$ 9.99

    Why do we keep playing the lottery when we know we?ll lose? How does what we laugh at—those bad jokes, wry allusions, and nasty pratfalls—tell us who we are? And what happens when, through some unforeseen mishap, we lose our identities and become Jane or John Doe? Eric LeMay explores these and other questions in fifteen innovative essays that center... more...

  • Sidewalksby Valeria Luiselli; Christina MacSweeney; Cees Nooteboom

    Coffee House Press 2014; US$ 12.99

    Cosmopolitan, vivacious essays in the tradition of Brodsky's Watermark and Benjamin's The Arcades Project by a celebrated young Mexican author. more...

  • Xylothequeby Yelizaveta P. Renfro

    University of New Mexico Press 2014; US$ 19.95

    Combining memoir and nature writing, this book comprises nine essays that represent different seasons and slices of time, not unlike the rings of a tree. No two rings are alike, but each accretes to the next, creating, section by section, a life. more...

  • Labor Day: True Birth Stories by Today's Best Women Writersby Eleanor Henderson; Anna Solomon

    Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2014; US$ 26.99

    Thirty acclaimed writers share their personal birth stories?the extraordinary, the ordinary, the terrifying, the sublime, the profane It?s an elemental, almost animalistic urge?the expectant mother?s hunger for birth narratives. Bookstores are filled with month-by-month pregnancy manuals, but the shelves are virtually empty of artful, entertaining,... more...

  • What Would Lynne Tillman Do?by Lynne Tillman; Colm Toibin

    Cursor 2014; US$ 9.99

    Here is an American mind contemplating contemporary society and culture with wit, imagination, and a brave intelligence. Tillman upends expectations, shifts tone, introduces characters, breaches limits of genre and category, reconfiguring the world with the turn of a sentence. Like other unique thinkers, Tillman sees the world differently—she is not... more...

  • The Opposite of Lonelinessby Marina Keegan; Anne Fadiman

    Scribner 2014; US$ 23.00

    An affecting and hope-filled posthumous collection of essays and stories from the talented young Yale graduate whose title essay captured the world?s attention in 2012 and turned her into an icon for her generation. Marina Keegan?s star was on the rise when she graduated magna cum laude from Yale in May 2012. She had a play that was to be produced... more...

  • The Opposite of Lonelinessby Marina Keegan; Anne Fadiman

    Scribner 2014; Not Available

    An affecting and hope-filled posthumous collection of essays and stories from the talented young Yale graduate whose title essay captured the world?s attention in 2012 and turned her into an icon for her generation. Marina Keegan?s star was on the rise when she graduated magna cum laude from Yale in May 2012. She had a play that was to be produced... more...

  • The Opposite of Lonelinessby Marina Keegan; Anne Fadiman

    Scribner 2014; Not Available

    An affecting and hope-filled posthumous collection of essays and stories from the talented young Yale graduate whose title essay captured the world?s attention in 2012 and turned her into an icon for her generation. Marina Keegan?s star was on the rise when she graduated magna cum laude from Yale in May 2012. She had a play that was to be produced... more...

  • The Flame Trees Of Thikaby Elspeth Huxley

    Random House 2014; US$ 13.08

    When Elspeth Huxley's pioneer father buys a remote plot of land in Kenya, the family sets off to discover their new home: five hundred acres of Kenyan scrubland, infested with ticks and white ants, and quavering with heat. What they lack in know-how they make up for in determination: building a grass house, employing local Kikuyu tribe members and... more...

  • The Devil Problemby David Remnick

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2014; US$ 15.00

    Readers know from his now classic Lenin's Tomb that Remnick is a superb portraitist who can bring his subjects to life and reveal them in such surprising ways as to justify comparison to Dickens, Balzac, or Proust. In this collection, Remnick's gift for character is sharper than ever, whether he writes about Gary Hart stumbling through life after Donna... more...