The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Russia (Federation). Russian S.F.S.R.

Most popular at the top

  • Putin Reduxby Richard Sakwa

    Taylor and Francis 2014; US$ 39.95

    This book builds on the strengths of the previous volumes by the same author to provide the most detailed and nuanced account of the man, his politics and his profound influence on Russian politics, foreign policy and society. However, this is not a new edition of the earlier books but is an entirely new work. The focus now is on the dilemmas... more...

  • Kremlin Risingby Peter Baker; Susan Glasser

    Scribner 2005; US$ 27.50

    In the tradition of Hedrick Smith's The Russians, Robert G. Kaiser's Russia: The People and the Power, and David Remnick's Lenin's Tomb comes an eloquent and eye-opening chronicle of Vladimir Putin's Russia, from this generation's leading Moscow correspondents. With the 1991 collapse of the Soviet Union, Russia launched itself on a fitful... more...

  • Lost Cosmonautby Daniel Kalder

    Scribner 2006; US$ 19.95

    Daniel Kalder belongs to a unique group: the anti-tourists. Sworn to uphold the mysterious tenets of The Shymkent Declarations , the anti-tourist seeks out the dark, lost zones of our planet, eschewing comfort, embracing hunger and hallucinations, and always traveling at the wrong time of year. In Lost Cosmonaut , Kalder visits locations that most... more...

  • Pop Culture Russia!by Birgit Beumers

    ABC-CLIO 2005; US$ 85.00

    Aimed at students, travelers, and general readers, this volume explores popular culture in post-Soviet Russia. It opens with a chronology and a brief overview of Soviet cultural history. The remainder of the volume is divided into six chapters: the media; visual culture; performing arts; music and word; popular entertainment; and consumer culture. more...

  • The Legacy of the Soviet Unionby Wendy Slater; Andrew Wilson

    Palgrave Macmillan 2004; US$ 138.00

    The Legacy of the Soviet Union offers a distillation by a group of eminent scholars of their experience of the post-Soviet years. Analysis of the post-Soviet landscape is accompanied by meditations on the impact of the post-Soviet transition on both policy-makers and academics. more...

  • Imitation in International Relationsby Benjamin Goldsmith

    Palgrave Macmillan 2005; US$ 105.00

    Imitation and emulation are mechanisms of competition in international relations that are theoretically posited but empirically diffuse. Goldsmith provides a trenchant overview of the extant literature and evidence, finding that specification and operationalization problems may explain the disconnect. Providing a distinctive and generalizable approach... more...

  • Russia, 1762-1825: Military Power, the State, and the Peopleby Janet M. Hartley

    Greenwood Publishing Group 2008; US$ 120.00

    A study of the Russian Empire at the peak of its military power and success, this book examines how a country with none of the obvious trappings of modernization was able to sustain the level of military effort and support the largest standing army in Europe, along with the resulting strain on state and society. more...

  • State, Power and Community in Early Modern Russiaby Brian Davies

    Palgrave Macmillan 2004; US$ 160.00

    State, Power and Community in Early Modern Russia is a vivid reconstruction of life in one of the garrison towns built on Muscovy's southern steppe frontier in the early Seventeenth-century to defend against Tatar raids. It focuses on how the colonization process shaped power relations in a particular southern garrison community, both at the village... more...

  • Russiaby Roger E. Kanet

    Palgrave Macmillan 2007; US$ 110.00

    The authors argue that Vladimir Putin and his advisors are committed to re-establishing Russia as a great power and that the existence of nuclear weapons and the revival of the Russian economy have provided the foundations for an expanded Russian role in global affairs. more...

  • Inside Putin's Russiaby Andrew Jack

    Oxford University Press, USA 2005; US$ 19.99

    International views of Russia have changed drastically in the last decade, due in part to the leadership of the decidedly pro-Western President Yeltsin. It was not without concern that we saw the next elected leader pulled from the ranks of the former KGB. Andrew Jack, former Moscow bureau chief for the Financial Times, uses in-depth research and years... more...