The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Russia (Federation). Russian S.F.S.R.

Most popular at the top

  • Kremlin Risingby Peter Baker; Susan Glasser

    Scribner 2005; US$ 17.99

    In the tradition of Hedrick Smith's The Russians, Robert G. Kaiser's Russia: The People and the Power, and David Remnick's Lenin's Tomb comes an eloquent and eye-opening chronicle of Vladimir Putin's Russia, from this generation's leading Moscow correspondents. With the 1991 collapse of the Soviet Union, Russia launched itself on a fitful... more...

  • Pop Culture Russia!by Birgit Beumers

    ABC-CLIO 2005; US$ 85.00

    Aimed at students, travelers, and general readers, this volume explores popular culture in post-Soviet Russia. It opens with a chronology and a brief overview of Soviet cultural history. The remainder of the volume is divided into six chapters: the media; visual culture; performing arts; music and word; popular entertainment; and consumer culture. more...

  • Chechnya - Russia's "War on Terror"by John Russell

    Taylor and Francis 2007; US$ 54.95

    The Russo-Chechen conflict has been the bloodiest war in Europe since the Second World War. It continues to drag on, despite the fact that it hits the headlines only when there is some 'terrorist spectacular'. Providing a comprehensive overview of the war and the issues connected with it, the author examines the origins of the conflict historically... more...

  • Ethno-Nationalism, Islam and the State in the Caucasusby Moshe Gammer

    Taylor and Francis 2007; US$ 54.95

    With the region of the Caucasus with its ongoing, and even deteriorating, crisis and instability and its strategic and economic importance increasingly at the front of the world's attention, this volume presents and discusses some of the complexities and problems arising in the region such as Islamic terrorists and al-Qaida. Scholars from different... more...

  • Inside Putin's Russiaby Andrew Jack

    Oxford University Press, USA 2005; US$ 19.99

    International views of Russia have changed drastically in the last decade, due in part to the leadership of the decidedly pro-Western President Yeltsin. It was not without concern that we saw the next elected leader pulled from the ranks of the former KGB. Andrew Jack, former Moscow bureau chief for the Financial Times, uses in-depth research and years... more...

  • Russian civil-military relations and the origins of the second Chechen warby Sz&; #225; Lajos F. szdi

    University Press of America 2008; US$ 54.99

    This book has relevance for those interested in understanding Russia's course in international relations under the leadership of Vladimir Putin. This book will inform the reader and is especially relevant in light of the events of 2008 in the Caucasus and the war in Georgia, in particular. more...

  • State Service in Sixteenth Century Novgorodby Vincent E. Hammond

    University Press of America 2009; US$ 49.99

    State Service in Sixteenth Century Novgorod is about the first century of the legal development of the pomestie established by Ivan III after the conquest of Novgorod. more...

  • Lost and Found in Russiaby Susan Richards

    Other Press 2010; US$ 15.95

    After the fall of communism, Russia was in a state of shock. The sudden and dramatic change left many people adrift and uncertain—but also full of a tentative but tenacious hope. Returning again and again to the provincial hinterlands of this rapidly evolving country from 1992 to 2008, Susan Richards struck up some extraordinary friendships with... more...

  • Celebrity and Glamour in Contemporary Russiaby Helena Goscilo; Vlad Strukov

    Taylor and Francis 2010; US$ 49.95

    This is the first book to explore the phenomenon of glamour and celebrity in contemporary Russian culture, ranging across media forms, disciplinary boundaries and modes of inquiry, with particular emphasis on the media personality.  Considering both general tendencies and individual celebrities, it examines the internal dynamics of the institutions... more...

  • The Agony of the Russian Ideaby Tim McDaniel

    Princeton University Press 1998; US$ 29.95

    Boris Yeltsin's attempts at democratic reform have plunged a long troubled Russia even further into turmoil. This dramatic break with the Soviet past has left Russia politically fragmented and riddled with corruption, its people with little hope for the future. In a fascinating account for anyone interested in Russia's current political struggles,... more...