The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Humanism

Most popular at the top

  • Konflikt (Heidelberger Jahrbücher) (German Edition)by Frank R. Pfetsch

    Springer 2006; US$ 39.95

    Ziel des vorliegenden Bandes ist es, das Thema Konflikt umfassend und in seiner ganzen Breite aus der Perspektive unterschiedlicher Disziplinen zu behandeln. Wie gehen Primaten, Menschen wie Tiere, mit Konflikten um, und welche Bewältigungsstrategien sind entwickelt worden? Das Besondere und Neue dieses Bandes liegt in der transdisziplinären, historischen... more...

  • Shame and Philosophyby Dr Phil Hutchinson

    Palgrave Macmillan 1999; US$ 100.00

    Engaging with current research in the philosophy of emotions, both analytic and continental, the author argues that reductionist accounts of emotions leave us in a state of poverty regarding our understanding of our world and of ourselves. more...

  • Emotions and Understandingby Dr Ylva Gustafsson; Dr Camilla Kronqvist; Dr Michael McEachrane

    Palgrave Macmillan 2008; US$ 115.00

    This unique collection of articles on emotion by Wittgensteinian philosophers provides a fresh perspective on the questions framing the current philosophical and scientific debates about emotions and offers significant insights into the role of emotions for understanding interpersonal relations and the relation between emotion and ethics. more...

  • Body and Soul in Ancient Philosophyby Dorothea Frede; Burkhard Reis

    De Gruyter 2009; US$ 105.00

    The problem of body and soul has a long history that can be traced back to the beginnings of Greek culture. The existential question of what happened to the soul at the moment of death, whether and in what form there is life after death, and of the exact relationship between body and soul was answered in different ways in Greek philosophy, from the... more...

  • The Brain and the Meaning of Lifeby Paul Thagard

    Princeton University Press 2010; US$ 20.95

    Why is life worth living? What makes actions right or wrong? What is reality and how do we know it? The Brain and the Meaning of Life draws on research in philosophy, psychology, and neuroscience to answer some of the most pressing questions about life's nature and value. Paul Thagard argues that evidence requires the abandonment of many traditional... more...

  • A Companion to the Philosophy of Actionby Constantine Sandis; Timothy O'Connor

    Wiley 2011; US$ 51.95

    A Companion to the Philosophy of Action offers a comprehensive overview of the issues and problems central to the philosophy of action. The first volume to survey the entire field of philosophy of action (the central issues and processes relating to human actions) Brings together specially commissioned chapters from international experts Discusses... more...

  • Being Wrongby Kathryn Schulz

    HarperCollins 2010; US$ 13.49

    ?Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise about a topic so central to our lives that we almost never even think about it.? ?Bill McKibben, author of Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Predictably Irrational comes Being Wrong, an illuminating exploration of what it means to... more...

  • Who Am I?by Richard David Precht; Shelley Frisch

    Random House Publishing Group 2011; US$ 16.00

    #1 INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER TRANSLATED INTO 23 LANGUAGES, WITH MORE THAN ONE MILLION COPIES SOLD   What is truth? What is love? Does life have meaning? Bestselling author Richard David Precht, ?the Mick Jagger of the nonfiction book? ( Tagesanzeiger Zürich ), has traveled the globe searching for answers?and his odyssey has become one of the most... more...

  • Publishing in the Republic of Lettersby Richard G. Maber

    Editions Rodopi 2005; US$ 56.00

    This book prints for the first time two remarkable interlocking sequences of letters between Paris and the Netherlands: 40 letters from Gilles Ménage in Paris to Johann-Georg Grævius in Utrecht, and 30 from the printer Henrik Wetstein, in Amsterdam, to Ménage. Their principal focus is the publication of a considerable number of Ménage’s... more...

  • A Philosophy of Painby Arne Vetlesen; John Irons

    Reaktion Books 2009; US$ 27.95

    ?Living involves being exposed to pain every second?not necessarily as an insistent reality, but always as a possibility,? writes Arne Vetlesen in A Philosophy of Pain, a thought-provoking look at an inevitable and essential aspect of the human condition more...