The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books

Most popular at the top

  • Who Am I?by Richard David Precht; Shelley Frisch

    Random House Publishing Group 2011; US$ 16.00

    #1 INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER TRANSLATED INTO 23 LANGUAGES, WITH MORE THAN ONE MILLION COPIES SOLD   What is truth? What is love? Does life have meaning? Bestselling author Richard David Precht, ?the Mick Jagger of the nonfiction book? ( Tagesanzeiger Zürich ), has traveled the globe searching for answers?and his odyssey has become one of the most... more...

  • Utopiaby Sir Thomas More

    The Floating Press 1901; US$ 3.95

    Sir Thomas More wrote Utopia in 1516 in Latin. His Utopia is a fictional island, whose society, religion and politics he explores. Critics do not believe that the island depicted More's idea of the perfect society, but rather that he hoped to throw the politics of his own time into a new light by contrasting them with his imagined island society.... more...

  • Being Wrongby Kathryn Schulz

    HarperCollins 2010; US$ 9.99

    ?Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise about a topic so central to our lives that we almost never even think about it.? ?Bill McKibben, author of Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Predictably Irrational comes Being Wrong, an illuminating exploration of what it means to... more...

  • The Myth of Sisyphusby Albert Camus

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2012; US$ 14.95

    One of the most influential works of this century, The Myth of Sisyphus and Other Essays is a crucial exposition of existentialist thought. Influenced by works such as Don Juan and the novels of Kafka, these essays begin with a meditation on suicide; the question of living or not living in a universe devoid of order or meaning. With lyric eloquence,... more...

  • The Consolations of Philosophyby Alain De Botton

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2013; US$ 15.95

    ?Wonderfully original, quirky.... De Botton finds inspiration where others might fail to look.?? Newsday more...

  • On the Genealogy of Moralityby Friedrich Nietzsche; Maudemarie Clark; Alan J. Swensen

    Hackett Publishing Company, Inc. 1998; US$ 14.95

    This new edition is the product of a collaboration between a Germanist and a philosopher who is also a Nietzsche scholar. The translation strives not only to communicate a sense of Nietzsche’s style but also to convey his meaning accurately—and thus to be an important advance on previous translations of this work. A superb set of notes ensures... more...

  • You Are Not So Smartby David McRaney

    Penguin Publishing Group 2011; US$ 16.00

    An entertaining illumination of the stupid beliefs that make us feel wise. You believe you are a rational, logical being who sees the world as it really is, but journalist David McRaney is here to tell you that you're as deluded as the rest of us. But that's OK- delusions keep us sane. You Are Not So Smart is a celebration of self-delusion.... more...

  • Twilight of the Idolsby Friedrich Nietzsche; Richard Polt; Tracy Strong

    Hackett Publishing Company, Inc. 1997; US$ 10.95

    Twilight of the Idols presents a vivid, compressed overview of many of Nietzsche?s mature ideas, including his attack on Plato?s Socrates and on the Platonic legacy in Western philosophy and culture. Polt provides a trustworthy rendering of Nietzsche?s text in contemporary American English, complete with notes prepared by the translator and Tracy... more...

  • On Libertyby John Stuart Mill; Elizabeth Rapaport

    Hackett Publishing Company, Inc. 1978; US$ 5.95

    Contents include a selected bibliography and an editor's Introduction broken into two sections. The first section provides a brief sketch of the historical, social, and biographical context in which Mill wrote and the second traces the central line of argument in the text to aid in the comprehension of the essay's structure, method, and major... more...

  • Galileo on the World Systemsby Galileo Galilei; Maurice A. Finocchiaro

    University of California Press 1997; US$ 12.95

    Galileo's 1632 book, Dialogue on the Two Chief World Systems, Ptolemaic and Copernican , comes alive for twentieth-century readers thanks to Maurice Finocchiaro's brilliant new translation and presentation. Condemned by the Inquisition for its heretical proposition that the earth revolves around the sun, Galileo's masterpiece takes the form of a debate,... more...