The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,943,133 members ⚫ 1,297,993 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Civil Rights

  • Intoleranceby Robert E. Tully; Bruce Chilton

    Hamilton Books 2017; US$ 36.99

    The essays examine specimens of social intolerance drawn from a broad field of history and culture: Classical Greece, the Middle East, Europe, Africa, and America. Themes include women’s legal rights; humanitarian law; legitimized child sacrifice; discrimination against racial and religious minorities; religious animosity; Just War morality; theological... more...

  • Inequality in Americaby Stephen M. Caliendo

    Avalon Publishing 2017; US$ 40.00

    Why does inequality have such a hold on American society and public policy? And what can we, as citizens, do about it? Inequality in America takes an in-depth look at race, class and gender-based inequality, across a wide range of issues from housing and education to crime, employment and health. Caliendo explores how individual attitudes can affect... more...

  • "Can We All Get Along?"by Paula D. McClain; Jessica Carew; Paula McClain

    Avalon Publishing 2017; US$ 52.00

    In a nation built by immigrants and bedeviled by the history and legacy of slavery and discrimination, how do we, as Americans, reconcile a commitment to equality and freedom with persistent inequality and discrimination? And what can we do about it? This widely acclaimed text by Paula D. McClain, with new coauthor Jessica D. Johnson Carew, provides... more...

  • A Burst of Lightby Audre Lorde; Sonia Sanchez

    Dover Publications 2017; US$ 22.95

    "The self-described black feminist lesbian mother poet used a mixture of prose, theory, poetry, and experience to interrogate oppressions and uplift marginalized communities. She was one of the first black feminists to target heteronormativity, and to encourage black feminists to expand their understanding of erotic pleasure. She amplified anti-oppression,... more...

  • The Burden of Collective Goodwillby Abiodun Alao

    Taylor and Francis 2017; US$ 149.95

    The book is the first to discuss in detail the extensive external involvement in the Liberian civil war, a war that claimed up to 200,000 lives, created a massive refuge crisis and brought West Africa to the tribunal of international attention. The book is conceived against the background that the international response to the conflict has features... more...

  • The Claim of Dispossessionby Arieh L. Avneri

    Taylor and Francis 2017; US$ 49.95

    This study of the Israeli-Arab conflict sheds new light on the historic background of the contemporary Palestinian problem. Unlike other books that treat the political issues of this confl ict, this volume traces the spread of Jewish settlements over the seventy year period before the establishment of the State of Israel, in order to see how it affected... more...

  • A Stone of Hopeby Jim St. Germain; Jon Sternfeld

    HarperCollins 2017; US$ 22.39

    In the tradition of The Other Wes Moore and Just Mercy , a searing memoir and clarion call to save our at-risk youth by a young black man who himself was a lost cause—until he landed in a rehabilitation program that saved his life and gave him purpose. Born into abject poverty in Haiti, young Jim St. Germain moved to Brooklyn’s Crown Heights,... more...

  • Tweeting to Freedom: An Encyclopedia of Citizen Protests and Uprisings around the Worldby William Willis; Anthony Fellow

    ABC-CLIO 2017; US$ 89.00

    The innovators who created social media might never have imagined the possibility: that activists living in countries where oppressive conditions are the norm would use social media to call for changes to bring greater freedom, opportunity, and justice to the masses. The attributes of social media that make it so powerful for casual socializing—the... more...

  • Federal Reports on Police Killingsby U.S. Department of Justice

    Melville House 2017; US$ 15.99

    After a series of incidents in which police officers in Chicago, Cleveland, Baltimore and Ferguson, Missouri, killed four unarmed African Americans--Laquan McDonald, Tamir Rice, Freddie Gray, and Michael Brown--resulting in widespread civic unrest and violent protests, the Department of Justice launched investigations into each incident, including... more...

  • Dream and Legacyby Michael L. Clemons; Donathan L. Brown; William H. L. Dorsey

    University Press of Mississippi 2017; US$ 30.00

    Current injustices and public policy examined in light of M. L. K.’s vision more...