The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,935,953 members ⚫ 1,292,914 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Political Freedom & Security

Most popular at the top

  • Access to History for the IB Diploma: Rights and protestby Michael Scott-Baumann; Peter Clements

    Hodder Education 2015; US$ 35.74

    A new book for Paper 1, Prescribed Subject 4: Rights and Protest The renowned IB Diploma History series, combining compelling narratives with academic rigor. An authoritative and engaging narrative, with the widest variety of sources at this level, helping students to develop their knowledge and analytical skills. Provides: - Reliable, clear... more...

  • Tortureby Sanford Levinson

    Oxford University Press 2004; US$ 13.99

    In this revised edition, Torture: A Collection brings together leading lawyers, political theorists, social scientists, and public intellectuals to debate the advisability of maintaining the absolute ban on torture and to reflect on what it says about our societies if we do--or do not--adhere to it in all circumstances. The noted contributors include... more...

  • The Innocent Manby John Grisham

    Random House Publishing Group 2010; US$ 9.99

    #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In the vein of Serial and Making a Murderer, John Grisham’s first work of nonfiction will terrify anyone who believes in the presumption of innocence. Impeccably researched, grippingly told, filled with eleventh-hour drama, it’s a book no American can afford to miss.   In the town of Ada, Oklahoma, Ron Williamson... more...

  • Death Orders: The Vanguard of Modern Terrorism in Revolutionary Russiaby Anna Geifman

    ABC-CLIO 2010; US$ 38.00

    Arguing that Russia is the birthplace of modern terrorism, Death Orders: The Vanguard of Modern Terrorism in Revolutionary Russia uses the nation as a case study of psycho-historical patterns of worldwide terrorist activity during the past century. Key features of early-20th century Russian political extremism serve as models for terrorist experiences... more...

  • Social Work and Human Rightsby Elisabeth Reichert

    Columbia University Press 2011; US$ 37.99

    Social Work and Human Rights is a standard text underscoring the role of social work in protecting the rights of vulnerable populations, both within and outside of the United States. Through rigorous analysis, classroom exercises, and a frank discussion of the implications for practice, the volume effectively acquaints readers with the political,... more...

  • Effective Physical Securityby Lawrence Fennelly

    Elsevier Science 2012; US$ 63.95

    Effective Physical Security, Fourth Edition is a best-practices compendium that details the essential elements to physical security protection. The book contains completely updated sections that have been carefully selected from the authors’ work that set the standard: Handbook of Loss Prevention and Crime Prevention, Fifth Edition. Designed... more...

  • The Psychology of Terrorismby John Horgan

    Taylor and Francis 2014; US$ 57.95

    This new edition of John Horgan's critically acclaimed book is fully revised and expanded. The book presents a critical analysis of our existing knowledge and understanding of terrorist psychology. Despite the on-going search for a terrorist pathology, the most insightful and evidence-based research to date not only illustrates the lack of any... more...

  • Protection, Security, and Safeguardsby Dale L. June

    CRC Press 2012; US$ 76.95

    Much has changed on the security landscape since the last edition of this book was published in 2000. Today’s security personnel face greater demands than ever before and are expected to be more highly trained and educated. Updated to reflect the heightened security climate of the current age, Protection, Security, and Safeguards: Practical Approaches... more...

  • Human Traffickingby Kathryn Cullen-DuPont

    Infobase Publishing 2009; US$ 54.00

    Despite the fact that the United Nations officially abolished slavery and the slave trade almost 60 years ago, millions of human beings live in slavery today. Human trafficking - the official term for modern-day slavery - consists of buying and selling people with the intent of exploiting them through forced labor or sexual acts. Human Trafficking... more...

  • Liu Xiaobo's Empty Chairby Perry Link

    New York Review Books 2011; US$ 8.95

    When the Norwegian Nobel Committee announced it was awarding the 2010 Nobel Peace Prize to the Chinese literary critic and human rights activist Liu Xiaobo, it made special note of his role in writing a remarkable political manifesto called Charter 08. In China, that same document has caused officials to throw him in jail with an 11-year sentence that... more...