The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,637,813 members ⚫ 1,169,093 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Political Freedom & Security

  • Palestine Investigatedby Eldad Harouvi

    Sussex Academic Press 2016; US$ 69.99

    This book tells the story of the Criminal Investigation Department (CID) of the Palestine Police Force (PPF) in the historical context which impacted the CID's missions, methods, and composition. At first, the CID was engaged in providing technical assistance for criminal investigation. Following the PPF's poor performance in the Arab Revolt in 1929,... more...

  • Merchants of Menby Loretta Napoleoni

    Seven Stories Press 2016; US$ 18.95

    A powerful and sophisticated underground business delivers thousands of refugees a day all along the Mediterranean coasts of Europe. The new breed of criminals that controls it has risen out of the political chaos of post-9/11 Western foreign policy and the fiasco of the Arab Spring. These merchants of men are intertwined with jihadist armed organizations... more...

  • Peace Through Entrepreneurshipby Steven R. Koltai; Matthew Muspratt

    Brookings Institution Press 2016; US$ 23.99

    Joblessness is the root cause of the global unrest threatening American security. Fostering entrepreneurship is the remedy. The combined weight of American diplomacy and military power cannot end unrest and extremism in the Middle East and other troubled regions of the world, Steven Koltai argues. Koltai says an alternative approach would work:... more...

  • The Terror Yearsby Lawrence Wright

    Little, Brown Book Group 2016; US$ 24.99

    Ten powerful pieces first published in The New Yorker recall the path terror in the Middle East has taken from the rise of al-Qaeda in the 1990s to the recent beheadings of reporters and aid workers by ISIS. With the Pulitzer Prize-winning The Looming Tower , Lawrence Wright became generally acknowledged as one of our major journalists writing... more...

  • Against the Death Penaltyby Stephen Breyer; John Bessler

    Brookings Institution Press 2016; US$ 14.99

    A landmark dissenting opinion arguing against the death penalty Does the death penalty violate the Constitution? In Against the Death Penalty , Justice Stephen G. Breyer argues that it does: that it is carried out unfairly and inconsistently, and thus violates the ban on "cruel and unusual punishments" specified by the Eighth Amendment to the... more...

  • Company Confessionsby Christopher Moran; Tony Mendez

    St. Martin's Press 2016; US$ 28.99

    For fans of Argo and Fair Game, "a lively, absorbing investigation." ? Library Journal Spies are supposed to keep quiet, never betraying their agents or discussing their operations. Somehow, this doesn?t apply to the CIA, whose former officers have written memoirs commanding huge advances and attracting enormous publicity. As an intelligence... more...

  • Blood in the Waterby Heather Ann Thompson

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2016; US$ 35.00

    The first definitive account of the infamous 1971 Attica prison uprising, the state's violent response, and the victims' decades-long quest for justice?including information never released to the public?published to coincide with the forty-fifth anniversary of this historic event. On September 9, 1971, nearly 1,300 prisoners took over the Attica... more...

  • The Terror Yearsby Lawrence Wright

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2016; US$ 28.95

    With the Pulitzer Prize?winning The Looming Tower, Lawrence Wright became generally acknowledged as one of our major journalists writing on terrorism in the Middle East. Here, in ten powerful pieces first published in The New Yorker, he recalls the path that terror in the Middle East has taken, from the rise of al-Qaeda in the 1990s to the recent... more...

  • Ethics for Peacebuildersby Reina C. Neufeldt

    Rowman & Littlefield Publishers 2016; US$ 38.99

    This book provides guidance for structuring ethical reflection as well as analytical tools to get to the heart of issues quickly. It is designed to help practitioners engage ethically in applied peacebuilding and conflict transformation and to help students aspiring to be peacebuilders think about ethics. It discusses ethics and morality, significant... more...

  • Maydayby Michael Beschloss

    Open Road Media 2016; US$ 14.99

    The ?definitive? book on the U-2 episode and its disastrous impact on the future of the Cold War ( Kirkus Reviews ). On May Day 1960, Soviet forces downed a CIA spy plane flown deep into Soviet territory by Francis Gary Powers two weeks before a crucial summit. This forced President Dwight Eisenhower to decide whether, in an effort to save the... more...