The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, Sony Reader...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books

  • Sidewalksby Valeria Luiselli; Christina MacSweeney; Cees Nooteboom

    Coffee House Press 2014; US$ 12.99

    Cosmopolitan, vivacious essays in the tradition of Brodsky's Watermark and Benjamin's The Arcades Project by a celebrated young Mexican author. more...

  • The Politics of Race in Panamaby Sonja Stephenson Watson

    University Press of Florida 2014; US$ 74.95

    Sonja Watson examines the writing of black Panamanian authors to reveal how race is defined, contested, and inscribed in Panama. She tells the story of two competing cultures: Afro-Hispanics whose ancestors came as slaves during the colonial period and West Indians whose families arrived more recently from English-speaking Caribbean countries to build... more...

  • Erzählen und Gesang im flavischen Eposby Anke Walter

    De Gruyter 2014; US$ 154.00

    The three Flavian poets, Valerius Flaccus, Statius, and Silius Italicus, held different views on the form and function of epic storytelling. This study shows which personae perform the role of storyteller in their works and how these interact with the narrated world and are mirrored by the singers and prophetic characters in the narrative. more...

  • Dream Nationby María Acosta Cruz

    Rutgers University Press 2014; US$ 25.95

    In this provocative new book, Maria Acosta Cruz investigates why the rhetoric of independence is so pivotal to Puerto Rican culture, despite the fact that the island?s voters have consistently rejected calls for national sovereignty. Weaving together texts from literature, history, and popular culture, Dream Nation shows how this seemingly revolutionary... more...

  • Quince Duncanby Dorothy E. Mosby

    University of Alabama Press 2014; US$ 44.95

    Quince Duncan is a comprehensive study of the published short stories and novels of Costa Rica’s first novelist of African descent and one of the nation’s most esteemed contemporary writers.   The grandson of Jamaican and Barbadian immigrants to Limón, Quince Duncan (b. 1940) incorporates personal memories into stories... more...

  • Winter Mooringsby Andrew McNeillie

    Carcanet 2014; US$ 14.51

    Andrew McNeillie?s sixth collection returns to the sea and its immensity as a metaphor for fate. It also revisits the British and Irish archipelago (‘For which read a figure for my heart. / For which read too a figure for time?s hurt?), following a north-western trajectory from the Aran Islands to the Hebrides. The natural world is seen here in both... more...

  • Yellow & Blueby Thomas A. Clark

    Carcanet 2014; US$ 14.51

    The poems in this book form a series of small acts of attention, repeated attempts to step outside the circle of human concern and into a wider responsibility to the natural world. ‘To move among / crashing pines / is spacious / and exact.? Yellow & Blue invites us to share the spaciousness of a book-length journey, an exacting clarity of perception.... more...

  • A Companion to Mario Vargas Llosaby Sabine Köllmann

    Boydell & Brewer 2014; US$ 99.00

    This Companion offers an overview and assessment of Mario Vargas Llosa's large body of work, tracing his development as a writer and intellectual in his essays, critical studies, journalism, and theatrical works, but above all in his novels. more...

  • Someone Else's Wedding Vowsby Bianca Stone

    Tin House Books 2014; US$ 15.95

    Someone Else?s Wedding Vows reflects on the different forms of love, which can be both tremendously joyous and devastatingly destructive. The title poem confronts a human ritual of marriage from the standpoint of a wedding photographer. Within the tedium and alienation of the ceremony, the speaker grapples with a strange human hopefulness. In this... more...

  • Adalberto Ortizby Marvin A. Lewis

    Lehigh University Press 2014; US$ 69.99

    Ortiz?s work is an essential cornerstone in the development of Afro-Hispanic literature of the diaspora, since the depth and breadth of his writings provide insights into some of the major cultural issues and dilemmas that have plagued Ecuadorian, and to some degree, much of Latin American society in general, for centuries. However, the significance... more...