The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Mental Illness

  • The Evil Hoursby David J. Morris

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 2015; US$ 27.00

    In the tradition of Andrew Solomon and Kay Redfield Jamison, an examination of the impact of posttraumatic stress disorder on American life, by an ex-Marine and war correspondent who suffers from the condition. more...

  • School Shootersby Peter Langman

    Rowman & Littlefield Publishers 2015; US$ 35.99

    School shootings scare everyone, even those not immediately affected. They make national and international news. They make parents afraid to send their children off to school. But they also lead to generalizations about those who perpetrate them. Most assumptions about the perpetrators are wrong and many of the warning signs are missed until... more...

  • Creativity and Mental Illnessby Simon Kyaga

    Palgrave Macmillan 2014; US$ 90.00

    Is there really a thin line between madness and genius? This book provides a thorough review of the current state of knowledge on this age old idea, and presents new empirical research to put an end to this debate, but also to open up discussion about the implications of its findings. more...

  • Managing Madness (Psychology Revivals)by Joan Busfield

    Taylor and Francis 2014; US$ 54.95

    Psychiatry regularly comes under attack as a way of caring for and controlling the mentally ill. Originally published in 1986, this title explores the history and theory of psychiatry to illuminate current practice at the time, and shows why mental health services had developed in particular ways. The book was invaluable for all those who needed to... more...

  • Narratives of Art Practice and Mental Wellbeingby Olivia Sagan

    Taylor and Francis 2014; US$ 140.00

    Narratives of Art Practice and Mental Wellbeing draws on extensive research carried out with mental health service users who are also practicing artists. Using narrative data gained through hours of reflective conversation, it explores not whether art can contribute to positive wellbeing and improved mental health - as this is now established... more...

  • Losing Timby Paul Gionfriddo

    Columbia University Press 2014; US$ 23.99

    Paul Gionfriddo?s son Tim is one of the “6 percent?—the percentage of all Americans with serious mental illness. He is also one of the half million homeless people with serious mental illnesses in desperate need of help yet often underserved or ignored by our health and social-service systems. In this moving, detailed, yet clear-eyed exposé, Gionfriddo... more...

  • De-Medicalizing Misery IIby Ewen Speed; Joanna Moncrieff; Mark Rapley

    Palgrave Macmillan 2014; US$ 30.00

    This book extends the critical scope of the previous volume, De-Medicalizing Misery , into a wider social and political context, developing the critique of the psychiatrization of Western society. It explores the contemporary mental health landscape and poses possible alternative solutions to the continuing issues of emotional distress. more...

  • Behind the Gates of Gomorrahby Stephen Seager

    Gallery Books 2014; US$ 26.00

    A darker twist on Orange is the New Black , this true insider's account delivers an eye-opening look into the nation?s largest state-run forensic hospital, a facility that houses the real-life Hannibal Lecters of the world. Psychiatrist Stephen Seager was no stranger to locked psych wards when he accepted a job at California?s Gorman State hospital,... more...

  • Depression, Emotion and the Selfby Matthew Ratcliffe; Achim Stephan

    Andrews UK 2014; US$ 23.99

    This volume addresses the question of what it is like to be depressed. Despite the vast amount of research that has been conducted into the causes and treatment of depression, the experience of depression remains poorly understood. Indeed, many depression memoirs state that the experience is impossible for others to understand. However, it is at least... more...

  • Pharmacological Treatment of College Students with Psychological Problemsby Leighton Whitaker; Stewart Cooper

    Taylor and Francis 2014; US$ 60.95

    Get valuable insights into best practices and procedures for treatment Mental health practitioners across the country are increasingly treating students by combining the use of psychotropic medication with psychotherapy. Pharmacological Treatment of College Students with Psychological Problems explores in detail this uncritically accepted exponential... more...