The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Mental Illness

  • Fast Girlby Suzy Favor Hamilton

    HarperCollins 2015; Not Available

    The former middle distance Olympic runner and high-end escort speaks out for the first time about her battle with mental illness, and how mania controlled and compelled her in competition, but also in life. This is a heartbreakingly honest yet hopeful memoir reminiscent of Manic, Electroboy , and An Unquiet Mind. During the 1990s, three-time Olympian... more...

  • Am I Depressed And What Can I Do About It?by Shirley Reynolds; Monika Parkinson

    Little, Brown Book Group 2015; Not Available

    Depression is one of the most common mental health problems and is estimated to affect around 15% of people at some point during their life. For many people depression is a life-long disorder which starts during the teenage years ?around 10% of teenagers are estimated to have an episode of depression and many more experience persistent low mood.... more...

  • How to be Happy and Healthyby Maeve Halpin; Edmond O?Flaherty; Nicole Paulie; Claire Owens; Sandra Higgins; Michael (Michelo) DelMonte

    Original Writing 2015; US$ 8.30

    The natural intelligence of the body and mind is programmed for health. This is a essential guide to simple, free or low-cost practices such as mindfulness, meditation, self-reflection, healthy eating and physical activity which can enhance well-being and mental health, building resilience and providing a daily buffer against life's inevitable stresses.... more...

  • How to Beat Depression One Step at a Timeby Paul Farrand; Marie Chellingsworth

    Little, Brown Book Group 2015; Not Available

    The IAPT programme, initiated in 2008, offers both high-intensity and low-intensity therapy. There are currently no self-help materials catering for low-intensity patients. This is the first in a new series of short self-help books for low intensity patients, covering topics such as OCD; generalised anxiety; and panic and agoraphobia. The government... more...

  • Introducing Psychotherapyby Nigel Benson; Borin Van Loon

    Icon Books 2015; US$ 6.99

    An Introducing graphic guide to the methods and history of psychotheraphy more...

  • The Evil Hoursby David J. Morris

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 2015; US$ 27.00

    In the tradition of Andrew Solomon and Kay Redfield Jamison, an examination of the impact of posttraumatic stress disorder on American life, by an ex-Marine and war correspondent who suffers from the condition. more...

  • School Shootersby Peter Langman

    Rowman & Littlefield Publishers 2015; US$ 35.99

    School shootings scare everyone, even those not immediately affected. They make national and international news. They make parents afraid to send their children off to school. But they also lead to generalizations about those who perpetrate them. Most assumptions about the perpetrators are wrong and many of the warning signs are missed until... more...

  • The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hatby Oliver Sacks

    Pan Macmillan 2014; US$ 9.44

    With an introduction by Will Self A classic work of psychology, this international bestseller provides a groundbreaking insight into the human mind. If a man has lost a leg or an eye, he knows he has lost a leg or an eye; but if he has lost a self - himself - he cannot know it, because he is no longer there to know it. In this extraordinary... more...

  • Creativity and Mental Illnessby Simon Kyaga

    Palgrave Macmillan 2014; US$ 90.00

    Is there really a thin line between madness and genius? This book provides a thorough review of the current state of knowledge on this age old idea, and presents new empirical research to put an end to this debate, but also to open up discussion about the implications of its findings. more...

  • The Day My Brain Slipped Out My Head and Onto the Kitchen Floorby Melanie Burnell

    Live It Ventures Ltd 2014; US$ 4.95

    What leads a vibrant, ambitious young mother to swallow over forty prescription pills in the desperate hope she falls into a deep sleep and never wakes up? What could be so horrifying that she has come to the conclusion that this is the only way to end the relentless turmoil and unimaginable despair she has been suffering? Were it not for some kind... more...