The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books

Most popular at the top

  • Aristarchus of Samosby Sir Thomas Heath

    Dover Publications 2014; US$ 22.95

    This classic work traces Aristarchus of Samos's anticipation by two millennia of Copernicus's revolutionary theory of the orbital motion of the earth. Heath's history of astronomy ranges from Homer and Hesiod to Aristarchus and includes quotes from numerous thinkers, compilers, and scholasticists from Thales and Anaximander through Pythagoras, Plato,... more...

  • Exploring the Moon Through Binoculars and Small Telescopesby Ernest H. Cherrington

    Dover Publications 2013; US$ 15.99

    Informative, profusely illustrated guide to locating and identifying craters, rills, seas, mountains, other lunar features. Newly revised and updated with special section of new photos. Over 100 photos and diagrams. "Extraordinary delight awaits the amateur astronomer or teacher who opens this book." ? The Science Teacher . more...

  • Copernicus and Modern Astronomyby Angus Armitage

    Dover Publications 2012; US$ 11.99

    Masterly and authoritative, this book by the foremost scholar on the 16th-century astronomer provides lucid accounts of the development and progress of the Copernican theory as well as a fascinating portrait of the man who clarified the basis for modern cosmology. 41 figures. 6 halftones. more...

  • Sun Lore of All Agesby William Tyler Olcott

    Dover Publications 2013; US$ 16.95

    From the ruins of Greek and Roman temples to Mexico's Pyramid of the Sun and the enduring mysteries of Stonehenge, this captivating study circles the earth in its examination of the legends, traditions, and superstitions that all cultures have woven about the sun. Starting with solar creation myths, this volume explores ancient ideology surrounding... more...

  • The Starry Roomby Fred Schaaf

    Dover Publications 2012; US$ 12.95

    This inspiring and enriching book, a collection of essays that evokes the beauty and wonder of the night sky, explains to beginning skywatchers how to find and where to look for specific celestial objects. Author Fred Schaaf, once described as a naturalist in the tradition of Henry David Thoreau and John Burroughs, reveals an intense love of his... more...

  • Celestial Harvestby James Mullaney

    Dover Publications 2013; US$ 9.99

    This book describes over 300 celestial wonders that can be viewed with common binoculars and low-power "backyard" telescopes incorporating refractors and reflectors. In addition to such showpieces as the Andromeda Galaxy, the largest and brightest of all galaxies after the Milky Way, and the Blue Snowball, one of the autumn sky's outstanding planetary... more...

  • Greek Astronomyby Sir Thomas L. Heath

    Dover Publications 2012; US$ 14.95

    Astronomy as a science began with the Ionian philosophers, with whom Greek philosophy and mathematics also began. While the Egyptians and Babylonians had accomplished much of astronomical worth, it remained for the unrivalled speculative genius of the Greeks, in particular, their mathematical genius, to lay the foundations of the true science... more...

  • Star Loreby William Tyler Olcott

    Dover Publications 2012; US$ 22.95

    Generations of readers, stargazers, and fireside dreamers have delighted in this guide to the myths and legends surrounding the stars and constellations. Originally published in 1911, William Tyler Olcott's beloved classic offers captivating retellings of ancient celestial lore from around the world. Star Lore recounts the origins and histories... more...

  • An Introduction to Celestial Mechanicsby Forest Ray Moulton

    Dover Publications 2012; US$ 18.95

    An unrivaled text in the field of celestial mechanics, Moulton's theoretical work on the prediction and interpretation of celestial phenomena has not been superseded. By providing a general account of all parts of celestial mechanics without an over-full treatment of any single aspect, by stating all the problems in advance, and, where the transformations... more...

  • Before This Decade Is Outby Glen E. Swanson; Paul Dickson

    Dover Publications 2013; US$ 15.99

    Oral histories by 14 participants in the Apollo program include comments by James Webb, Thomas O. Paine, Wernher von Braun, and astronauts Harrison Schmitt and Charles Duke. 69 black-and-white illustrations. more...