The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Astronomy

Most popular at the top

  • Aristarchus of Samosby Sir Thomas Heath

    Dover Publications 2014; US$ 22.95

    This classic work traces Aristarchus of Samos's anticipation by two millennia of Copernicus's revolutionary theory of the orbital motion of the earth. Heath's history of astronomy ranges from Homer and Hesiod to Aristarchus and includes quotes from numerous thinkers, compilers, and scholasticists from Thales and Anaximander through Pythagoras, Plato,... more...

  • Exploring the Moon Through Binoculars and Small Telescopesby Ernest H. Cherrington

    Dover Publications 2013; US$ 15.99

    Informative, profusely illustrated guide to locating and identifying craters, rills, seas, mountains, other lunar features. Newly revised and updated with special section of new photos. Over 100 photos and diagrams. "Extraordinary delight awaits the amateur astronomer or teacher who opens this book." ? The Science Teacher . more...

  • Copernicus and Modern Astronomyby Angus Armitage

    Dover Publications 2012; US$ 11.99

    Masterly and authoritative, this book by the foremost scholar on the 16th-century astronomer provides lucid accounts of the development and progress of the Copernican theory as well as a fascinating portrait of the man who clarified the basis for modern cosmology. 41 figures. 6 halftones. more...

  • Sun Lore of All Agesby William Tyler Olcott

    Dover Publications 2013; US$ 16.95

    From the ruins of Greek and Roman temples to Mexico's Pyramid of the Sun and the enduring mysteries of Stonehenge, this captivating study circles the earth in its examination of the legends, traditions, and superstitions that all cultures have woven about the sun. Starting with solar creation myths, this volume explores ancient ideology surrounding... more...

  • The Starry Roomby Fred Schaaf

    Dover Publications 2012; US$ 12.95

    This inspiring and enriching book, a collection of essays that evokes the beauty and wonder of the night sky, explains to beginning skywatchers how to find and where to look for specific celestial objects. Author Fred Schaaf, once described as a naturalist in the tradition of Henry David Thoreau and John Burroughs, reveals an intense love of his... more...

  • Celestial Harvestby James Mullaney

    Dover Publications 2013; US$ 9.99

    This book describes over 300 celestial wonders that can be viewed with common binoculars and low-power "backyard" telescopes incorporating refractors and reflectors. In addition to such showpieces as the Andromeda Galaxy, the largest and brightest of all galaxies after the Milky Way, and the Blue Snowball, one of the autumn sky's outstanding planetary... more...

  • A Complete Manual of Amateur Astronomyby P. Clay Sherrod; Thomas L. Koed

    Dover Publications 2012; US$ 15.99

    Concise, highly readable book discusses the selection, set-up, and maintenance of a telescope; amateur studies of the sun; lunar topography and occultations; and more. 124 figures. 26 halftones. 37 tables. more...

  • The Complete Idiot's Guide to Astronomy, 2eby Christopher DePree

    DK Publishing 2001; US$ 18.95

    Astronomy is an ancient science on the cutting edge. Although it's been around for more than 5,500 years, astronomers say that we've learned more than 90 percent of what we know about the universe in just the last 50 years. Of this body of knowledge, a disproportionate amount has been acquired in the past decade, with each new year yielding more information... more...

  • Before This Decade Is Outby Glen E. Swanson; Paul Dickson

    Dover Publications 2013; US$ 15.99

    Oral histories by 14 participants in the Apollo program include comments by James Webb, Thomas O. Paine, Wernher von Braun, and astronauts Harrison Schmitt and Charles Duke. 69 black-and-white illustrations. more...

  • Parallaxby Alan W. Hirshfeld

    Dover Publications 2013; US$ 19.95

    Lively, well-illustrated history of measuring the distance to the stars features fascinating historical characters, from ancient Greeks to 19th-century scientists. Will appeal to general readers and amateur and professional astronomers. 2002 edition. more...