The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,629,807 members ⚫ 1,172,494 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Astronomy

  • The Starsby DK

    Dorling Kindersley Ltd 2016; Not Available

    The Stars is a stunning guide to the celestial wonders of our universe, capturing the beauty of the cosmos beyond our solar system. Fully authenticated by the Smithsonian Institution, The Stars lets you explore the awe-inspiring wonders of our universe and discover the most fascinating objects known to astronomy, from glittering starbirth nebulae... more...

  • Deep-Sky Companions: The Caldwell Objectsby Stephen James O'Meara; Mario Motta

    Cambridge University Press 2016; US$ 44.00 US$ 36.08

    Featuring stunning images, updated observations and astrophysical descriptions, this is ideal for observers in search of a new challenge. more...

  • Astrophysical Applications of Gravitational Lensingby Evencio Mediavilla; Jose A. Muñoz; Francisco Garzón; Terence J. Mahoney

    Cambridge University Press 2016; US$ 112.00 US$ 91.84

    This book presents gravitational lensing as an essential tool in astrophysics for tracking dark matter at all scales in the Universe. more...

  • Lunar and Planetary Surface Conditionsby Nicholas A. Weil; Frederick I. Ordway

    Elsevier Science 2016; US$ 72.95

    Lunar and Planetary Surface Conditions considers the inferential knowledge concerning the surfaces of the Moon and the planetary companions in the Solar System. The information presented in this four-chapter book is based on remote observations and measurements from the vantage point of Earth and on the results obtained from accelerated space program... more...

  • An Astronomer's Taleby Gary Fildes

    Random House 2016; US$ 23.96

    A Bricklayer's Guide to the Galaxy . . . The inspirational memoir of a former brickie who followed his passion for the stars and built his own observatory. Perfect for readers of Robert Macfarlane, Helen Macdonald and James Rebanks - as well as fans of Brian Cox and the BBC?s Sky at Night Gary Fildes left school at sixteen, got... more...

  • From the Realm of the Nebulae to Populations of Galaxiesby Mauro D'Onofrio; Roberto Rampazzo; Simone Zaggia

    Springer International Publishing 2016; US$ 279.00

    In order to outline possible future directions in galaxy research, this book wants to be a short stopover, a moment of self-reflection of the past century of achievements in this area. Since the pioneering years of galaxy research in the early 20th century, the research on galaxies has seen a relentless advance directly connected to the parallel... more...

  • The Ethics of Space Explorationby James S.J. Schwartz; Tony Milligan

    Springer International Publishing 2016; US$ 99.99

    This book aims to contribute significantly to the understanding of issues of value (including the ultimate value of space-related activities) which repeatedly emerge in interdisciplinary discussions on space and society. Although a recurring feature of discussions about space in the humanities, the treatment of value questions has tended to be patchy,... more...

  • The Amazing Unity of the Universeby Edward van den Heuvel

    Springer International Publishing 2016; US$ 34.99

    In the first chapters the author describes how our knowledge of the position of Earth in space and time has developed, thanks to the work of many generations of astronomers and physicists. He discusses how our position in the Galaxy was discovered, and how in 1929, Hubble uncovered the fact that the Universe is expanding, leading to the picture... more...

  • Radial-velocity Searches for Planets Around Active Starsby Raphaëlle D. Haywood

    Springer International Publishing 2016; US$ 129.00

    This thesis develops new and powerful methods for identifying planetary signals in the presence of ?noise? generated by stellar activity, and explores the physical origin of stellar intrinsic variability, using unique observations of the Sun seen as a star. In particular, it establishes that the intrinsic stellar radial-velocity variations mainly arise... more...

  • Faith 7by Colin Burgess

    Springer International Publishing 2016; US$ 34.99

    This book celebrates the final spaceflight in the Mercury series, flown by NASA astronaut Gordon Cooper, who led an adventurous life in the cockpit of airplanes and spacecraft alike, and on his Mercury mission he became the last American ever to rocket into space alone. He flew in the Mercury and Gemini programs and served as head of flight crew... more...