The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, Sony Reader...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Paleontology

Most popular at the top

  • Gaining Ground, Second Editionby Jennifer A. Clack

    Indiana University Press 2012; US$ 49.99

    Around 370 million years ago, a distant relative of a modern lungfish began a most extraordinary adventure?emerging from the water and laying claim to the land. Over the next 70 million years, this tentative beachhead had developed into a worldwide colonization by ever-increasing varieties of four-limbed creatures known as tetrapods, the ancestors... more...

  • Lifeby Richard Fortey

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2011; US$ 17.00

    By one of Britain's most gifted scientists: a magnificently daring and compulsively readable account of life on Earth (from the "big bang" to the advent of man), based entirely on the most original of all sources--the evidence of fossils. With excitement and driving intelligence, Richard Fortey guides us from the barren globe spinning in space, through... more...

  • The Fossil Detectivesby Douglas Palmer; Hermione Cockburn

    Ebury Publishing 2012; US$ 24.72

    Fossils provide us with a tantalizing glimpse of Britain's prehistoric past and hold the key to unlocking the secrets of life's history and evolution. Since the appearance of primitive organisms in Britain more than a billion years ago, oceans, deserts, swamps and vast mountains have come and gone in our corner of western Europe; forests of long-extinct... more...

  • Late Cainozoic Floras of Icelandby Thomas Denk; Reinhard Zetter; Leifur A. Simonarson; Friogeir Grimsson

    Springer 2011; US$ 239.00

    Being the only place in the northern North Atlantic yielding late Cainozoic terrestrial sediments rich in plant fossils, Iceland provides a unique archive for vegetation and climate development in this region. This book includes the complete plant fossil record from Iceland spanning the past 15 million years. Eleven sedimentary rock formations containing... more...

  • Chuckwalla Landby David Rains Wallace

    University of California Press 2011; US$ 36.95

    Described as "a writer in the tradition of Henry David Thoreau, John Muir, and other self-educated seers" by the San Francisco Chronicle , David Rains Wallace turns his attention in this new book to another distinctive corner of California?its desert, the driest and hottest environment in North America. Drawing from his frequent forays to Death Valley,... more...

  • Paleontologyby Ian Tattersall

    Templeton Press 2011; US$ 9.99

    "Endlessly absorbing and informative. It would be hard to imagine a better introduction to this most important and fascinating field.”—Bill Bryson, author of A Short History of Nearly Everything Paleontology: A Brief History of Life is the fifth title published in the Templeton Science and Religion Series, in which scientists... more...

  • Time Travelerby Michael Novacek

    Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2003; US$ 25.99

    Hunting for fossils with a preeminent guide and teacher Michael Novacek, a world-renowned paleontologist who has discovered important fossils on virtually every continent, is an authority on patterns of evolution and on the relationships among extinct and extant organisms. Time Traveler is his captivating account of how his boyhood enthusiasm for... more...

  • Applications of Palaeontologyby Robert Wynn Jones

    Cambridge University Press 2011; US$ 112.00

    Shows how palaeontology can be applied to petroleum, mineral and coal exploration and exploitation, engineering geology and environmental science. more...

  • Bernissart Dinosaurs and Early Cretaceous Terrestrial Ecosystemsby Pascal Godefroit

    Indiana University Press 2012; US$ 74.99

    In 1878, the first complete dinosaur skeleton was discovered in a coal mine in Bernissart, Belgium. Iguanodon, first described by Gideon Mantell on the basis of fragments discovered in England in 1824, was initially reconstructed as an iguana-like reptile or a heavily built, horned quadruped. However, the Bernissart skeleton changed all that. The... more...

  • Stratigraphic Paleobiologyby Mark E. Patzkowsky; Steven M. Holland

    University of Chicago Press 2012; US$ 30.00

    Whether the fossil record should be read at face value or whether it presents a distorted view of the history of life is an argument seemingly as old as many fossils themselves. In the late 1700s, Georges Cuvier argued for a literal interpretation, but in the early 1800s, Charles Lyell’s gradualist view of the earth’s history required... more...