The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, Sony Reader...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Paleontology

Most popular at the top

  • Sedimentation of Organic Particlesby Alfred Traverse

    Cambridge University Press 1994; US$ 99.00

    This book looks at the sedimentation of the organic material found in sedimentary rocks. more...

  • The Terrestrial Eocene-Oligocene Transition in North Americaby Donald R. Prothero; Robert J. Emry

    Cambridge University Press 1996; US$ 136.00

    Provides the latest information in dating and correlation of the strata of late middle Eocene through early Oligocene age in North America. more...

  • Grave Secrets of Dinosaursby Phil Dr Manning

    National Geographic Society 2008; US$ 16.95

    Many of us have seen dinosaur bones and skeletons, maybe even dinosaur eggs...but what did those fearsome animals really look like in the flesh? Soft-tissue fossils give tantalizing clues about the appearance and physiology of the ancient animals. In this exciting book, paleontologist Phillip Manning presents the most astonishing dinosaur fossil... more...

  • Paleontologyby Derek Turner

    Cambridge University Press 2011; US$ 25.00

    Explores the far-reaching philosophical questions of paleontology, discussing diverse issues such as punctuated equilibrium and species selection. more...

  • The Great Devonian Controversyby Martin J. S. Rudwick

    University of Chicago Press 2011; US$ 34.00

    "Arguably the best work to date in the history of geology."—David R. Oldroyd, Science "After a superficial first glance, most readers of good will and broad knowledge might dismiss [this book] as being too much about too little. They would be making one of the biggest mistakes in their intellectual lives. . . . [It] could become one of our... more...

  • Gaining Ground, Second Editionby Jennifer A. Clack

    Indiana University Press 2011; US$ 49.99

    Around 370 million years ago, a distant relative of a modern lungfish began a most extraordinary adventure?emerging from the water and laying claim to the land. Over the next 70 million years, this tentative beachhead had developed into a worldwide colonization by ever-increasing varieties of four-limbed creatures known as tetrapods, the ancestors... more...

  • Lifeby Richard Fortey

    Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group 2011; US$ 17.00

    By one of Britain's most gifted scientists: a magnificently daring and compulsively readable account of life on Earth (from the "big bang" to the advent of man), based entirely on the most original of all sources--the evidence of fossils. With excitement and driving intelligence, Richard Fortey guides us from the barren globe spinning in space, through... more...

  • The Fossil Detectivesby Douglas Palmer; Hermione Cockburn

    Ebury Publishing 2012; US$ 24.70

    Fossils provide us with a tantalizing glimpse of Britain's prehistoric past and hold the key to unlocking the secrets of life's history and evolution. Since the appearance of primitive organisms in Britain more than a billion years ago, oceans, deserts, swamps and vast mountains have come and gone in our corner of western Europe; forests of long-extinct... more...

  • Late Cainozoic Floras of Icelandby Thomas Denk; Reinhard Zetter; Leifur A. Simonarson; Friogeir Grimsson

    Springer 2011; US$ 239.00

    Being the only place in the northern North Atlantic yielding late Cainozoic terrestrial sediments rich in plant fossils, Iceland provides a unique archive for vegetation and climate development in this region. This book includes the complete plant fossil record from Iceland spanning the past 15 million years. Eleven sedimentary rock formations containing... more...

  • Chuckwalla Landby David Rains Wallace

    University of California Press 2011; US$ 36.95

    Described as "a writer in the tradition of Henry David Thoreau, John Muir, and other self-educated seers" by the San Francisco Chronicle , David Rains Wallace turns his attention in this new book to another distinctive corner of California?its desert, the driest and hottest environment in North America. Drawing from his frequent forays to Death Valley,... more...