The Leading eBooks Store Online

for Kindle Fire, Apple, Android, Nook, Kobo, PC, Mac, BlackBerry...

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
System Theory

Most popular at the top

  • Emergenceby Steven Johnson

    Scribner 2012; US$ 16.00

    A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK A VOICE LITERARY SUPPLEMENT TOP 25 FAVORITE BOOKS OF THE YEAR AN ESQUIRE MAGAZINE BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR In the tradition of Being Digital and The Tipping Point, Steven Johnson, acclaimed as a "cultural critic with a poet's heart" (The Village Voice), takes readers on an eye-opening journey through emergence... more...

  • Agent-Based and Individual-Based Modelingby Steven F. Railsback; Volker Grimm

    Princeton University Press 2011; US$ 57.50

    Agent-based modeling is a new technique for understanding how the dynamics of biological, social, and other complex systems arise from the characteristics and behaviors of the agents making up these systems. This innovative textbook gives students and scientists the skills to design, implement, and analyze agent-based models. It starts with the fundamentals... more...

  • Simplexityby Jeffrey Kluger

    Hyperion 2008; US$ 25.40

    Why are the instruction manuals for cell phones incomprehensible? Why is a truck driver's job as hard as a CEO's? How can 10 percent of every medical dollar cure 90 percent of the world's disease? Why do bad teams win so many games? Complexity, as any scientist will tell you, is a slippery idea. Things that seem complicated can be astoundingly... more...

  • Simplexityby Jeffrey Kluger

    Hyperion 2008; Not Available

    Why are the instruction manuals for cell phones incomprehensible? Why is a truck driver's job as hard as a CEO's? How can 10 percent of every medical dollar cure 90 percent of the world's disease? Why do bad teams win so many games? Complexity, as any scientist will tell you, is a slippery idea. Things that seem complicated can be astoundingly... more...

  • Robust Optimization-Directed Designby Andrew J. Kurdila; Panos M. Pardalos; Michael Zabarankin

    Springer-Verlag New York Inc 2006; US$ 129.00

    Robust design is the often unpleasant issue crucial in much multidisciplinary optimal design work. There is enormous practical interest in strategies for applying optimization tools to the development of robust solutions and designs in several areas. This book contains contributions that explore these different strategies. more...

  • Synchronization in Oscillatory Networksby Grigory V. Osipov; Jürgen Kurths; Changsong Zhou

    Springer 2007; US$ 109.00

    This work systematically investigates a large number of oscillatory network configurations that are able to describe many real systems such as electric power grids, lasers or even the heart muscle, to name but a few. The book is conceived as an introduction to the field for graduate students in physics and applied mathematics as well as being a compendium... more...

  • Thinking in Complexityby Klaus Mainzer

    Springer 2007; US$ 69.95

    This new edition also treats smart materials and artificial life. A new chapter on information and computational dynamics takes up many recent discussions in the community. more...

  • Branchesby Philip Ball

    Oxford University Press 2009; US$ 21.99

    As part of a trilogy of books exploring the science of patterns in nature, acclaimed science writer Philip Ball here looks at the form and growth of branching networks in the natural world, and what we can learn from them.Many patterns in nature show a branching form - trees, river deltas, blood vessels, lightning, the cracks that form in the glazing... more...

  • Flowby Philip Ball

    Oxford University Press 2009; US$ 17.99

    From the swirl of a wisp of smoke to eddies in rivers, and the huge persistent storm system that is the Great Spot on Jupiter, we see similar forms and patterns wherever there is flow - whether the movement of wind, water, sand, or flocks of birds. It is the complex dynamics of flow that structures our atmosphere, land, and oceans.Part of a trilogy... more...

  • Complexityby Melanie Mitchell

    Oxford University Press, USA 2009; US$ 16.99

    What enables individually simple insects like ants to act with such precision and purpose as a group? How do trillions of individual neurons produce something as extraordinarily complex as consciousness? What is it that guides self-organizing structures like the immune system, the World Wide Web, the global economy, and the human genome? These are... more...