The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,508,729 members ⚫ 2,065,349 ebooks

New to eBooks.com?

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books
Anthropology

  • CSR und Wertecockpitsby Friedrich Glauner

    Springer Berlin Heidelberg 2016; US$ 29.99

    Dieses Buch verknüpft betriebswirtschaftliche Ansätze zur Steuerung von Unternehmensprozessen mit interdisziplinären Forschungsergebnissen zu den Treiberkräften menschlichen Denkens und institutionellen Handelns. Das Resultat, der Wertecockpit, zeigt, dass die Steuerung der Wertekultur ein Wertschöpfungsprozess ist, der die Grundlage für alle anderen... more...

  • Letters from the Field, 1925-1975by Margaret Mead

    HarperCollins 2016; US$ 12.99

    Margaret Mead was famous for keeping in touch with a wide circle of friends as we see in this collection of wonderfully revealing correspondence from the field. Written over a period of half a century, these letters to friends, family, and colleagues detail her first fieldwork in Samoa and go on to record her now famous anthropological endeavors in... more...

  • Returnedby Deborah Boehm

    University of California Press 2016; US$ 29.95

    Returned follows transnational Mexicans as they experience the alienation and unpredictability of deportation, tracing the particular ways that U.S. immigration policies and state removals affect families. Deportation?an emergent global order of social injustice?reaches far beyond the individual deportee, as family members with diverse U.S. immigration... more...

  • Pinpointby Greg Milner

    Granta Publications 2016; US$ 19.99

    A big-think book which tells the riveting story of GPS (Global Positioning System) and how it is affecting our brains, our technology, and our culture, in the tradition of James Gleick and Nicholas Carr more...

  • Methods That Matterby M. Cameron Hay

    University of Chicago Press 2016; US$ 35.00

    To do research that really makes a difference?the authors of this book argue?social scientists need questions and methods that reflect the complexity of the world. Bringing together a consortium of voices across a variety of fields, Methods that Matter offers compelling and successful examples of mixed methods research that do just that. In case... more...

  • Man Upby Rebecca Asher

    Random House 2016; US$ 21.14

    What does it mean to be a man today? Much is being done to change negative female stereotypes but we still expect that big boys don?t cry, strong and silent types get the girl, and that there is such a thing as a ?real man?. Man Up challenges the accepted rules of masculinity. It confronts the reasons why boys are three times more likely than girls... more...

  • Infectious Changeby Katherine Mason

    Stanford University Press 2016; US$ 27.95

    In February 2003, a Chinese physician crossed the border between mainland China and Hong Kong, spreading Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS)?a novel flu-like virus?to over a dozen international hotel guests. SARS went on to kill about 800 people and sicken 8,000 worldwide. By July 2003 the disease had disappeared, but it left an indelible change... more...

  • The Unsettled Sectorby Analiese Richard

    Stanford University Press 2016; US$ 24.95

    In late twentieth century Mexico, the NGO "boom" was hailed as an harbinger of social change and democratic transition, with NGOs poised to transform the relationship between states and civil society on a global scale. And yet, great as the expectations were for NGOs to empower the poor and disenfranchised, their work is rooted in much older civic... more...

  • Plastic Reasonby Tobias Rees

    University of California Press 2016; US$ 34.95

    Throughout the twentieth century, neuronal researchers knew the adult human brain to be a thoroughly fixed and immutable cellular structure, devoid of any developmental potential. Plastic Reason is a study of the efforts of a few Parisian neurobiologists to overturn this rigid conception of the central nervous system by showing that basic embryogenetic... more...

  • Lift Your Spiritsby Elizabeth M. Williams; Chris McMillian; Dale DeGroff

    LSU Press 2016; US$ 22.50

    The Sazerac, the Hurricane, and the absinthe glass of Herbsaint are among the many well-known creations native to New Orleans's longstanding drinking culture. But more than vehicles for alcohol, the cocktails and spirits that complement the city's culinary prowess are each a token of its history. In every bar-side toast or street-corner daiquiri you... more...