The Leading eBooks Store Online

3,687,217 members ⚫ 1,190,073 ebooks

New to

Learn more
Browse our categories
  • Bestsellers - This Week
  • Foreign Language Study
  • Pets
  • Bestsellers - Last 6 months
  • Games
  • Philosophy
  • Archaeology
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Architecture
  • Graphic Books
  • Poetry
  • Art
  • Health & Fitness
  • Political Science
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • History
  • Psychology & Psychiatry
  • Body Mind & Spirit
  • House & Home
  • Reference
  • Business & Economics
  • Humor
  • Religion
  • Children's & Young Adult Fiction
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Computers
  • Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Science
  • Crafts & Hobbies
  • Law
  • Science Fiction
  • Current Events
  • Literary Collections
  • Self-Help
  • Drama
  • Literary Criticism
  • Sex
  • Education
  • Literary Fiction
  • Social Science
  • The Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Family & Relationships
  • Media
  • Study Aids
  • Fantasy
  • Medical
  • Technology
  • Fiction
  • Music
  • Transportation
  • Folklore & Mythology
  • Nature
  • Travel
  • Food and Wine
  • Performing Arts
  • True Crime
  • Foreign Language Books

Most popular at the top

  • Billy Hill: Godfather of London - The Unparalleled Saga of Britain's Most Powerful Post-War Crime Bossby Wensley Clarkson

    John Blake Publishing 2009; US$ 7.28

    There will never be another Billy Hill - Reggie Kray. Bill had a great brain. There's no two ways about it - Frankie Fraser. I made Billy Hill. Then he got over the top of me. I should have shot Billy Hill. I really should. I'd have got ten years for it but it would have made me happy and I'd be out now - laughing - Jack Spot. I have no doubt that... more...

  • Love of Blood - The True Story of Notorious Serial Killer Joanne Dennehyby Christopher Berry-Dee

    John Blake Publishing 2015; US$ 7.28

    THE STUFF OF NIGHTMARES?A man alone in a bedsit with a young woman friend, who suddenly unleashes a deadly onslaught, without warning or reason.The stabs don't hurt. They seem more like punches. Then he realises that the red liquid pumping out of his body and on to the floor is his blood. He doesn't realise, as he drifts into unconsciousness before... more...

  • Social Justiceby Loretta Capeheart; Dragan Milovanovic

    Rutgers University Press 2007; US$ 27.95

    An eye for an eye, the balance of scales--for centuries, these and other traditional concepts exemplified the public's perception of justice. Today, popular culture, including television shows like Law and Order, informs the public's vision. But do age-old symbols, portrayals in the media, and existing systems truly represent justice in all of its... more...

  • Crimes of Power & States of Impunityby Michael Welch

    Rutgers University Press 2009; US$ 27.95

    Since 9/11, a new configuration of power situated at the core of the executive branch of the U.S. government has taken hold. In Crimes of Power & States of Impunity, Michael Welch takes a close look at the key historical, political, and economic forces shaping the country's response to terror. Welch continues the work he began in Scapegoats of September... more...

  • Debating the Death Penaltyby Hugo Adam Bedau; Paul G. Cassell

    Oxford University Press 2005; US$ 9.99 US$ 8.59

    This volume brings together seven experts--judges, lawyers, prosecutors, and philosophers--to debate the death penalty in a spirit of open inquiry and civil discussion. Here, as the contributors present their reasons for or against capital punishment, the multiple facets of the issue are revealed in clear and thought-provoking detail. Is the death... more...

  • The Innocent Manby John Grisham

    Random House Publishing Group 2010; US$ 9.99

    #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER ? In the vein of Serial and Making a Murderer, John Grisham?s first work of nonfiction will terrify anyone who believes in the presumption of innocence. Impeccably researched, grippingly told, filled with eleventh-hour drama, it?s a book no American can afford to miss.   In the town of Ada, Oklahoma, Ron Williamson... more...

  • O'Hara's Fundamental of Criminal Investigationby DeVere Woods

    Charles C Thomas 2013; US$ 59.95

    Charles and Gregory O’Hara’s Fundamentals of Criminal Investigation has served as the “Bible” of criminal investigation for many years. The author of this new edition has prepared this text for a new generation of criminal investigators in such a way that they will learn what is meant by a complete investigation and acquaint themselves... more...

  • Class, Race, Gender, and Crimeby Gregg Barak; Paul Leighton; Allison Cotton

    Rowman & Littlefield Publishers 2014; US$ 49.99

    The fourth edition of the powerful textbook Class, Race, Gender, and Crime introduces students to crime and the criminal justice system through the lens of class, race, gender, and their intersection. Maintaining the overall structure of the third edition, the fourth edition incorporates new examples, current data, and recent theoretical developments... more...

  • Crime and Public Policyby James Q. Wilson; Joan Petersilia

    Oxford University Press 2011; US$ 40.99 US$ 35.25

    Crime and Public Policy accessibly presents the latest scientific information on the causes of crime and evidence about what does and does not work to control it. With contributions from trusted, leading scholars, on topics such as changing crime rates, sex offenders, sentencing, gangs, and more, James Q. Wilson and Joan Petersilia continue to offer... more...

  • When Prisoners Come Homeby Joan Petersilia

    Oxford University Press 2009; US$ 15.99 US$ 13.75

    Drawing on dozens of interviews with inmates, former prisoners, and prison officials, Joan Petersilia convincingly shows us how the current system is failing to help the enornmous numbers of jailed Americans reenter society. Unwilling merely to sound the alarm, Petersilia explores the harsh realities of prisoner reentry and offers specific solutions... more...